Cauliflower Pizza Crust

6 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

If you read this blog with any regularity, you know I am obsessed with cauliflower.  It can be used to replace or replicate so many things and is inexpensive & free of so many things many people are trying to avoid, like carbs, calories & gluten.  This pizza crust was not my first attempt at using cauliflower as a base for pizza but, the last time I tried it, I wasn’t blogging so the results were never made public.  The results were that it tasted good but I thought it used too much cheese & felt like it was worse for you than regular pizza dough.

This crust is lighter & smelled incredible cooking, but it was a tad moist for my taste & didn’t set together as well as I’d hoped.  In fairness, no cauliflower crust is going to fool anyone into thinking they are eating a standard issue pizza on dough but this one still isn’t perfected.  I did dump a lot of wet ingredients on it (sliced tomatoes & fresh mozzarella) and that definitely contributed to the moisture factor.  Still, I could pick it up & eat it like a slice – just not a crispy one.

Image

The cooking time on this one will likely vary for everyone – depending on the calibration of your oven & how much moisture you manage to squeeze out of the cooked cauliflower rice & how thick you make your crust.  I kept going in five minute increments from the initial 25 minute cooking time I guessed at until it looked like this:

Image

I then transferred it (and tore it in the process) to this wire pizza rack thing I have – hoping the vented rack would allow the oven to dry the crust out more.  It looks like this:

Image

It didn’t really help.  Next time – I might start with the wire rack & cook the dough on parchment atop that & see if it impacts the crispness of the crust.

All that said – this pizza crust was very tasty & even my dogs gobbled up the cauliflower crust I gave them.  That might seem obvious to you but my Dexter is a very finicky eater.  So – I do not want to discourage you from trying this.  The spices I added were sort of random.  You can use the ones I did or not – or you can add some of your own.  Rosemary might be nice!

The pizza you see here that I made is finished with a tomato sauce, fresh tomato, fresh mozzarella & basil on one side & my Chard Pesto (which I recommend VERY highly) on the other.  You can top your crust any way you like.

Image

Image

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

INGREDIENTS

1 medium head cauliflower

1 egg – beaten

4 oz. goat cheese

1 TBS dry oregano

1 TBS dry parsley

1 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

DIRECTIONS

Heat your oven to 400 degrees.

Chop your cauliflower & then either pulse it in your food processor (or, as I did, use the grater blade) and reduce the cauliflower to a rice-like consistency.  A regular cheese grater will work, too, but one of the drawbacks to cauliflower is that it pops everywhere when you cut it raw & it gets messy.  Still – the rice cauliflower can be achieved with just a regular cheese grater.

Image

Boil about an inch of water in a large stock pot.  Boil the cauliflower for about 5 minutes.  Drain it through a fine mesh sieve.  Cool it with cold water & then, in batches, wrap it is a clean kitchen towel & twist it tighter & tighter – squeezing out every bit of water you can.

Image

In a large bowl, beat the egg then add all the remaining ingredients, including the cauliflower.  With your hands, completely blend the ingredients into a moist dough.

ImageImage

Line your pizza pan with parchment paper or REALLY grease it.  I suggest the paper – but in a pinch – grease will work.  I just fear it will stick to the pan on you.  No need to grease the parchment, though.  Press your dough into your pizza’s shape – even creating the deep crust on the edges, if you like.  Your pizza dough should be about 1/3 inch thick or so in the flat part.

ImageImage

Bake this for about 30-45 minutes – watching it carefully because it will go from not done to burned in a flash.  When it reaches a nice golden color take it out of the oven.  Top it with your toppings & cook until your cheese is melted.  Voila!

PRINT THIS RECIPE

ImageImageImage

6 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Crust

  1. Oh yay, happy tappy toe dance for two things here- I LOVE me some goat cheese and anything with a cauli yum is happy to me. Looking forward to trying this recipe instead of the brown rice pizza crust one I have for a change up. I have to take my carbs down to a pittance and my lean proteins up to the levels that will turn me into some sort of sea critter. expecting to be classified critter in no time. Love these last few entrees bunches. Wit and tummy wise.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!! While it was a bit tedious, it was well worth it for many reasons: One, my son, who abhors vegetables of any kind, LOVED it! Two, it’s a great way to cut back on carbs and calories! Three, you were so right about the aroma (heavenly!!!), and four…. well, you get the idea!

    Please forgive me for not providing any photos of the finished product, but it was literally gone within minutes. My son, who was not aware that the wonderful smell contained vegetables, ate three pieces! When I broke the news to him, he replied, “Make it again!”

    I had to make a few substitutions due to lack of a good food processor and ingredients. I actually steamed the cauliflower before grating it, which may have made the wringing out process a bit shorter. And instead of a food processor, I used a cheese grater. (It worked well having already been steamed.) I also used dried basil instead of dried parsley, which worked out okay. Additionally, I used a kitchen aide mixer with a dough hook to mix the “dough,” but found it to be unnecessary and messier.

    Toppings included a fat, carb and calorie-free pasta sauce (not my favorite, but healthy nonetheless) and a tad bit of mozzarella. If my ultra picky eater wants this again, it’s a winner in my book! Please keep the cauliflower recipes coming! (Can’t wait to try the cauliflower mashed potatoes!!) Thanks again!!!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Gluten-Free Cauliflower Tortillas as Goat Cheese, Roasted Pepper & Spinach Pizza or Margherita Pizza | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

  4. Pingback: Gluten-Free Spinach Pizza Crust Dough | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

  5. Pingback: Karnabahar pizzası | Tarif Sepeti

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.