Gluten-Free Spinach Pizza Crust Dough

6 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

vromans front

vromans back

Hey guys!  I wrote a funny novel!  I hope you will check it out!  www.BathingBook.com

Image

Inspired by the success of my cauliflower tortillas and my earlier cauliflower pizza crust & quinoa pizza crust recipes – I decided to attempt a spinach-based pizza crust.  My issues with this spinach crust are that 1) cooked, it isn’t that vibrant green and, hence, isn’t the prettiest crust I’ve ever seen and 2) that the recipe calls for a full cup of grated mozzarella & and egg which, combined, add about 430 calories or so to the crust itself.  In contrast, the cauliflower tortillas only require 3 eggs which is a total of about 270 calories.  So – if calories are your concern – go cauliflower.  If the issue is gluten & calories don’t matter – then I suggest trying them all because, despite the fact that the spinach crust was a tad higher in calories and was pretty soft as far as crusts go, it was really delicious!  I was surprised at how delicious – because (frankly) it did not look so appetizing.

Image

The recipe is super easy (if you have a food processor) so do not be intimidated.  The spices I added were sort of random so you can either use them or not or go a different way but this version is very tasty!  One thing, though – be sure to use parchment paper because, due to the cheese, this dough can get very sticky.

Image

Gluten-Free Spinach Pizza Crust Dough

INGREDIENTS

2 cups tightly packed fresh spinach (or more)

1 cup packed grated mozzarella cheese (or more)

1 egg

1 tsp each: dry oregano, dry basil, dry parsley, onion powder, garlic powder

S&P to taste

PARCHMENT PAPER (critical)

DIRECTIONS

Puree the spinach in your food processor.

Image

Add the cheese & egg & blend.  Add spices & blend.

ImageImage

Line a pizza pan with parchment paper & press the spinach mix onto it in the shape you want your pizza to be.

Image

Bake it at 425 for about 15 minutes.  Check to be sure it doesn’t overcook.  Mine was thinner in some places & browned a bit too much.

Image

Ideally, only the edges would be browned.

I then lined a second pizza pan with parchment paper & flipped the dough over onto it.

ImageImageImageImage

This step was probably unnecessary as the pizza crust was pretty resilient at the oint and the flipping didn’t result in a crispy result (my aim).  So – feel free to just top the thing without the flipping.  I topped mine with whipped feta (4 oz feta + 1 oz cream cheese plus 1 tsp lemon zest, a tsp water & some pepper – blended in a food processor), sliced tomato, additional fresh spinach, chopped roasted peppers, red onion, grated mozzarella & some fresh mozzarella.  I cooked it at about 350 for 20 minutes or so.  Y.U.M.M.Y!

ImageImageImage

Image

6 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Spinach Pizza Crust Dough

  1. I love gluten free concept of eating. I have cut down on gluten as well and have lost 5kgs. I love going for a run. Keeps me fit at the same time I have time alone with my soul. After exercising 4 to 5 times a week I saw no reduce in weight. I may have not gained weight but I didn’t even loose any. I have a very unpleasant looking tummy after both my children. It’s been 11years my kids are out, but my tummy still makes me look like I m six months pregnant. After giving up gluten I saw my weight go down by 5kgs, In 45days
    I feel good and try and ignore breads in particular or anything tht has weath.

    Like

  2. Just found this page , while looking for lower carb crusts. I will try flax and spnach powder instead of cheese for the crust. Spinach powder works great. Nice photos.

    Like

Leave a Reply

