Easy Vegan Meatloaf

11 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2015

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)


9-13-15 (100)

9-13-15 (37)

BathingandthesinglegirlCover vromans back

9-13-15 (33)

9-13-15 (48)

9-13-15 (147)

852629004170_2048x2048

This is my first attempt at a vegan meatloaf.  I was determined not to use lentils or other distinctly NOT beefy ingredient – so I opted for Beyond Meat’s wonderfully versatile Beef-free Crumble.  I also could not use eggs so I needed some other ingredient to bind things.  Aquafaba (the liquid in a can of chick peas) is all the rage these days as an egg replacer – so I tried that.  My results were actually very good.  The only thing I would change is that I pureed all the ingredients & that left the meatloaf soft & without enough texture – so – I will recommend a different method in this post.

 9-12-15 (37)

I used that rich & thick BBQ sauce – but you can use your own favorite – or make your own.  The only other thing that I did – which was a pain in the ass but necessary for photos – was use a terrine pan to bake the meatloaf.  I wanted the end result to be DEEP – and look hefty in photos.  You do not have that concern so just use a regular loaf pan.  Finally, I guess I have never had traditional meatloaf because that sugary, ketchup topping that seems standard is news to me.  I wasn’t going to use any but changed my mind – basically for the color it added in the photos.  If a brown sugar-ketchup topping sounds gross or unnecessary to you – blow it the fuck off.

Ketchup Brown Sugar Glaze

1/2  cup ketchup (or additional BBQ sauce)

1 TBS Dijon mustard

1 TBS vegan Worcestershire sauce (optional)

2 TBS light-brown sugar

Whisk the ingredients together

9-13-15 (63)

9-13-15 (119)

Easy Vegan Meatloaf

INGREDIENTS
2 (9 oz) bags of beefy crumbles

1 (15 oz) can chick peas & their liquid (UPDATE 11-30-15– several folks complained their meatloaf is too wet/soft when done.  Maybe drain & reserve the liquid from the can to add only if you feel your meatloaf is too dry before putting it in the oven.)

1/2 cup panko or other bread crumbs (UPDATE 11-30-15 – likewise – maybe add more bread crumbs or some flax or chia seeds to aid in binding – if you feel the “meat” is too wet.  It should be like a raw meatball – moist but can hold its shape)

Olive oil

1/2 small onion – diced

2 celery stalks – chopped

2 garlic cloves – chopped

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 TBS crushed red pepper

1/4 cup BBQ sauce (plus more for topping)

1/4 cup Bloody Mary mix (or tomato juice) or 1/2 small tomato – diced

1 TBS fresh thyme – removed from stems

1/4 cup fresh parsley – chopped (plus more for garnish)

9-12-15 (38)

9-12-15 (42)

9-12-15 (48)

9-13-15 (85)

9-13-15 (112)

DIRECTIONS

First of all – ignore my photos of the terrine pan with the little ramekin holding my meatloaf in shape.  Just use a regular loaf pan.

Heat the oven to 375 degrees.

In a large saute pan, heat a 1-2 TBS or so of olive oil & saute the onion & celery until soft.  Add the beefy crumbles & heat through.  Add the garlic & heat for another minute.  Mix in the panko or bread crumbs.  Set aside.

In a food processor – puree the chick peas & their juice.

Add the salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, smoked paprika, crushed red pepper, BBQ sauce and Bloody Mary mix (or tomato juice or tomato).  Blend.  Add about 1/2 of the beefy crumble mix from the pan & blend.  Add this mix from the food processor to the saute pan & mix in with the remaining, in tact beefy crumble mixture.

Grease a loaf pan (or treat it with cooking spray) and put the meatloaf mixture in it.  Top with BBQ sauce.

Put it in the oven for 45-60 minutes or until it begins to brown & is cooked through.  If you are using the ketchup glaze – make it while the meatloaf cooks & add it at about the 30 minute mark.  You need not use all of it & can serve the extra as a dipper or a fresh coat when the meatloaf comes out of the oven.

Let it sit a solid ten minutes before cutting into it.  Garnish with parsley & serve.

LEFTOVERS ALERT!!!  Make a meatloaf sandwich or a sloppy Joe or use the meat to stuff bell peppers or make a beef ragout pasta sauce or layer some in a lasagna.  Why not make chili?  So many ways to re-purpose this stuff!

9-13-15 (31)

9-13-15 (45)

9-13-15 (72)

9-13-15 (136)

9-13-15 (148)

11 thoughts on “Easy Vegan Meatloaf

  1. I made this “meatloaf” last night and it didn’t turn out. It was so soft and soupy I had to serve it with a spoon. I also didn’t enjoy the flavors of the Beefy Crumbles with the other spices. I wish Beyond Beef crumbles were unseasoned. Anyway, considering this is an expensive dish with 2 bags of Beefy Crumbles, I wanted to give a heads up. Thanks for sharing the recipe, even if it didn’t work for me

    Like

    • I cooked mine for DOUBLE the amount of time recommended and it still did not set. I would recommend draining the chickpeas so you aren’t adding all of that extra liquid and see if that helps.

      If you are not a vegan, you could try adding an egg or two as I know that is traditional in a meatloaf and would probably help it set. If you are, maybe some chia seeds or psyllium husk?

      This is strictly my personal taste, but I thought there were too many spices in this recipe. The crumbles already come with a lot of seasonings on them and I don’t know that you need to add more, especially the red pepper flakes. They competed with the taste of the crumbles. Same goes for the BBQ sauce. I used plain ketchup.

      Good luck! I hope it turns out great for your Thanksgiving feast!

      Like

      • The chick pea juice is supposed to act as an egg replacer – and I do like my food spiced. Still – I wonder if others had the same issue you had – because I haven’t heard anything. If the recipe fails for people – I need to remove it. Thanks for your insights!

        Like

  2. Ours also came out very soft. Next time,,we’ll leave out the chickpea liquid and add some ground up chia or flax seed as a binder. May also increase the Pablo bread crumbs slightly for a more firm texture.

    Love the pictures! Thank you for sharing!!!

    Like

  3. I totally missed adding the bread crumbs. I’m soo mad. It’s in the oven now. I hope it comes out ok. More to come…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.