Raleigh Cafe & the Set of Castle at Raleigh Studios

7 Comments

Photo – ABC TV

Hey!  Have you heard?  I wrote a really funny & dirty novel!  www.BathingBook.com.   Check out the reviews on Amazon!  Why not buy a copy?

vromans front vromans back

Image

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2012

Well – I haven’t been on the set of a network television show in a while.  I knew I missed it – but I now realize –  I didn’t know how much.

OOOOH!  A lot!  I love studio lots!  So much history.  It makes you really feel like you are part of something big.

Image

My character is one half of a Jersey hair & make-up team for a fictional TV news program.   The original breakdown compared them to the Simpsons characters – Patty & Selma.

Image

(Stock photo)

Here is my dressing room:

My first step in the process of becoming one of these women was wardrobe.  Here is one of the two outfits we decided on.

Image

(photo – Castle wardrobe department)

The next step was hair & make-up – courtesy of the imaginative Anthony & Patricia.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Then came dinner.  There is a lovely cafe – with a wait staff and everything – there on the lot.

Image

Image

I ordered a Caesar salad, fries & an iced tea.

ImageImage

My cast-mate, Laura Niemi, joined me & we sat outside on a beautiful summer night & had dinner.

Image

We worked until late Wednesday night – and enjoyed some craft service.

Image

Image

Image

We worked again on Thursday & Friday.  Even got to change up our looks a bit.

Image

Image

Image

Laura & I – I think you can see – got along famously!   And why not?  We are fabulous chicks on a great show playing really fun characters!    People were dripping gratitude like a George Foreman grill drips grease.    Ok – that was weak – and kinda gross.   But I’m exhausted.  Not feeling the “art” here today.

Image

Image

Additionally – the cast & crew of Castle rank among the friendliest I have ever worked with.  The two lead actors – Nathan Fillion & Stana Katic – went well beyond the call of duty in making their guest actors feel comfortable & welcome.  This is more rare than you might imagine.  They are both gorgeous to look at – and even prettier on the inside – so, if you are a fan of Castle – your heart is in the right place.  CLASS CLASS CLASS all over that joynt like white on rice.

The Raleigh Cafe hosted our dinner last night.  It was even more lovely eating there after dark – on another warm summer night.

Image

The other guest actors were all charming & a delight to meet.  Also – not always a given.

Castle – I love you!  You will go down as one of the most pleasant professional experiences of my career.  And that is saying a lot because, for personal reasons, this was one of the hardest weeks of my life.  Seriously.  The hair & make-up trailer was witness to many a tear from me & much silent, shaking-shoulder-crying-into-the-hands melodrama (for reasons too sad to share here) – and they were incredibly kind, patient & compassionate with me.

By the time we wrapped last night at 1:30AM –  Laura was getting weepy with me – but this time it was because we were so sad to go.   So –

Cheers, to you, cast & crew of CASTLE!!!!  And thank you!

Image

7 thoughts on “Raleigh Cafe & the Set of Castle at Raleigh Studios

  1. Pingback: Behind the Scenes with the Guest Stars of "Cloudy with a Chance of Murder" | Castle TV on ABC & TNT

  2. Delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant experience while participating in my favorite tv show. I know watching it is always a pleasant experience for me! Also hoping that things are better in the personal department. Hugs to you and best wishes.

    Like

      • Oh! I can feel for you there. I have a 6 year old Chihuahua who is my heart and soul. I know I would be devastated if anything happened to her.

        Like

  3. I am so glad you had such a great experience. While I’m not an actress, I’d love to be able to meet both Stana and Nathan. They seem like really sweet people both on and off camera. I’m very happy that you had a great few days filming with them. It looks like a great set to be on surrounded by lots of amazing people! Can’t wait to see the episode you are going to be in!

    Like

  4. Well, this just made my day. It’s such a joy to hear about people, in any setting or walk of life, who are pretty on the inside. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.