DDD Ep. #24 – Vegan Saag with Tofu Paneer

2 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2017

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board –HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

This is a really easy dish but this recipe makes a boatload so you might want to consider cutting it in half – or doublinf the tofu paneer recipe because that shit is yummy!

Click the image below for the video & please subscribe to my channel.

Vegan Saag with Tofu Paneer

INGREDIENTS

for the tofu paneer

1 block extra firm tofu

4 TBS nutritional yeast or vegan Parmesan

3 TBS olive oil

2 tsp salt

for the saag

2 lbs fresh spinach

3 TBS olive oil

2 TBS cumin seeds

1 small onion – chopped

6 garlic cloves – minced

2 TBS ginger

2 jalapenos – diced (optional)

1-2 TBS turmeric (start with one & add more if you think it needs it)

1-2 TBS garam masala (start with one & add more if you think it needs it)

1-2 TBS ground coriander (start with one & add more if you think it needs it)

1 TBS ground fenugreek (optional)

5 tomatoes – diced

2 tsp sugar

2 tsp salt

1 cup of either vegan heavy cream or sour cream or cream cheese or a combination

DIRECTIONS

Whisk the nutritional yeast, oil & salt in a bowl.

Slice the tofu in half & place between paper towels.  Rest something heavy on it to press out some moisture.

Cube the tofu & toss it in the mixture.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.  Set aside.

Puree 1 lb of spinach with some water in a blender or food processor.  Just use enough water to facilitate the pureeing.  This is optional.  You could opt to just chop half the spinach – or all of it.

Heat 3 TBS olive oil in as pan & add 1-2 TBS cumin seeds (use less for a less heavily spiced dish).   When they start popping & get fragrant, add the onion & saute until soft.

Add the garlic & ginger & jalapenos.  Saute a few minutes & then add the spices.  Add some water to create a thin paste.  Heat through & add the tomatoes.  Add the sugar & salt & combine.  Once the tomatoes are warmed & soft – start adding the fresh spinach until it all cooks down.  Ad the pureed or chopped spinach & stir to combine.  Stir in the vegan dairy you chose to use.  Heat through.  Taste & adjust seasonings.

Serve with the baked tofu paneer on top and some rice or naan.

2 thoughts on “DDD Ep. #24 – Vegan Saag with Tofu Paneer

  1. Christine
    Bravo! for you these very informative and entertaining cooking videos for vegan style cooking. I really appreciate all of your tips and tricks. It was great to hear you talking about how unhealthy tofu can be. Can you talk more about how much protein you are getting in each recipe? These videos are so professionally done. Thank you so much. Cheers

    Like

    • Thank you!!! I got a lot of responses to my tofu remarks. Apparently, the ill effects have been debunked As to protein – sorry – no, I cannot – for 2 reasons. 1) I am not a nutritionist & do not want to be mistaken for one – or have anyone think I am one. I am just a home cook. And 2) – I gave up meat in the 80’s and made ZERO effort to replace meat with any other protein. I do not buy into the American obsession with protein. I go weeks without eating beans or tofu or any of the traditional proteins people think vegans resort to- and I work out very hard. Sometimes – I crave peanut butter or something – and so I eat it. But there is plenty of protein in veggies etc. I am 52 & one of the healthiest people I know – without ever thinking about protein. I just get it where & when I get it – INCIDENTALLY – not intentionally. I literally NEVER think about protein content in anything. Ever. 🙂 CHEERS!

      Like

Leave a Reply

