Easy Roasted Sunchokes (Jerusalem Artichokes) with Herbs

Leave a comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2016

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or just print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

1-25-16 (110)

1-25-16 (125)

BathingandthesinglegirlCover

vromans back

1-25-16 (119)

I had never seen or heard of sunchokes until my Farm Fresh to You veggie delivery offered them.   Intrigued – I ordered some.  They look like ginger but – when you cut them – the texture inside is more like a water chestnut or a radish.  Online – a bit of research revealed that people spoke of how wonderful these things are roasted because they get crispy on the outside but really soft & creamy on the inside.  So – I commenced to roasting them.

While they cooked, I did some more research and happened upon a blog post where the blogger claimed that – after eating roasted sunchokes – she was struck with a 24-hour bout of explosive diarrhea.  Her husband was ill for 12 hours.  So – I added a few key words to my sunchoke searches & it because clear that LOTS of people get horrible digestive & tummy issues after eating these things.  Apparently – they are unaffectionately nicknamed “fartichokes.”  Someone went so far as to say it was “irresponsible” for restaurants to serve them.  Jeez.  I looked at my oven warily as I toyed with the idea of just throwing the sunchokes I had directly into the trash.  But – 45 or so minutes later – they came out of the oven looking all golden & delicious – I could not resist trying one.  It was definitely softer & creamier inside than a potato would have been – and the subtle flavor it had definitely resembled the taste of an artichoke heart – but with a hint of sweetness.  I read somewhere someone saying these taste a lot like Terra chips – but I just got artichoke with sugar.   Of course, I immediately imagined my stomach rumbling in objection – but that was just paranoia.  I ate two or three more bites before I decided the sweetness was unpleasant & determined I had ample reason to throw the rest away – which I did.

So – between the flavor being off & the risk of an explosive shit storm – I don’t think I am endorsing these guys.  Attempt at your own risk!

1-25-16 (120)

Easy Roasted Sunchokes (Jerusalem Artichokes) with Herbs

INGREDIENTS

Sunchokes – washed & cut into bite-sized pieces

Olive oil

Fresh thyme

Dry rosemary

S&P

1-25-16 (87)

1-25-16 (88)

DIRECTIONS

Heat the oven to 400 degrees.

Toss the sunchokes in a bit of olive oil & stir in a few tablespoons of fresh herbs.  Season with S&P.

Roast for 40-60 minutes or until they are soft & golden.

Eat at your own risk!  🙂

1-25-16 (114)

Leave a Reply

