Vegan Beef & Broccoli Stuffed Peppers

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2015

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

6-5-15 (31) 6-5-15 (39)

BathingandthesinglegirlCover

vromans back

6-5-15 (21)

OK – so – I saw that vegan cheese above & decided to give it a shot.  I have yet to find a vegan cheese that tastes remotely like cheese and, I must confess, these individual slices do taste like a creamy cheese.  Best I have found – so far.  But – like every other vegan cheese I have experimented with – this shit DOES NOT melt.  I cooked four peppers – two with this cheese & two with real mozzarella.  I left them in a 400 degree oven for 45 minutes.  I burned the mozzarella black but the fake cheese did not melt.  At all.

6-5-15 (33) 6-5-15 (34)

See?  It is even burned at the edges but zero melting factor.  Tastes good but useless of you need a melted cheese.

Most stuffed peppers I have had are filled with some sort of meat & rice & they are often drowned in a red sauce.  I wanted these to be lighter so there is no carbohydrate in them & I served them clean – without a sauce – and they were very tasty.  I apologize – again – for less than stunning photos but the overcooking that resulted from my efforts to melt the unmeltable – but do not be thrown.  These are easy & yummy.

6-5-15 (23)

6-5-15 (51)

5-10-15 (16)

bell-peppers-sex

Oh – and there is a little bell pepper tip for you!  And – I recommend Beyond Meat vegan products.  Best on the market!  Go to their site to find out where you can find it near you.

Vegan Beef & Broccoli Stuffed Peppers

Serves 2

INGREDIENTS

4 bell peppers (male – if you can get them) – tops cut off & de-seeded

9 oz vegan beef crumbles

2 TBS olive oil

1/2 onion – diced

1 head broccoli – chopped fine

1 cup peas

1 cup corn

2 jalapenos – seeded & diced ( I left the seeds in for extra heat)

1/4 cup parsley – chopped

Cheese of your choice – vegan or otherwise (I use 1/2 vegan & half real mozzarella)

Garnish options – parsley, basil or micro arugula (I opted for micro arugula) or a warmed red sauce

DIRECTIONS

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Heat the olive oil in a saute pan & saute the onion, broccoli, corn, peas, beef, jalapenos & parsley until the veggies are tender.

Put your peppers in a casserole or pie pan & stuff them with the mixture.

If you are using vegan cheese – you can top them with it before they go in the oven.  If using read cheese – put that on in the last 15 minutes of cooking – lest it burn.

Cook for 30-45 minutes – or until the peppers are cooked to your taste.

Serve with the garnish of your choice.

6-5-15 (46)

Leave a Reply

