Baked Leftover Mashed Potato Cakes

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2015

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

IMG_4049

IMG_4036

bathingandthesinglegirlcover

vromans-back

4-6-15 (96)

4-6-15 (82)

OK – I made those Shepherd’s Pie Empanadas for Easter but I had a shit ton of the mashed potato filling left over.  So – I made these potato cakes.

You can use the recipe from the empanadas for the mash mixture or make up your own.  I have a food mold – so I used it but you can make these by hand, the way you would make a hamburger patty.  You can pan fry these but I chose to bake them.  I added grated cheese – mainly to make them prettier.  I added bread crumbs but I don’t think I would in the future as they just add calories & not much else.  I did not mix anything extra in but you could add cheese to the potatoes themselves or additional cooked vegetables or, if you are a meat eater – add some chopped ham or bacon.

IMG_4027

IMG_4033

IMG_4058

Baked Leftover Mashed Potato Cakes

INGREDIENTS

Mashed potatoes – either from my Shepherd’s Pie Empanadas or your own recipe – just make them thick.

Breadcrumbs – optional

Grated cheese – optional (I used Parmesan & a mixed Mexican blend)

Additional vegetables, cheeses or meats – optional

Garnish – sour cream, chives

IMG_4009

IMG_4010

IMG_4011

IMG_4014

IMG_4020

IMG_4025

DIRECTIONS

Heat the oven to 350.

Add whatever you want to add to your mashed potatoes.

Assemble your cakes by hand or with a food ring.  Press some breadcrumbs in – if you are using them.  Place on a cooking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Top with cheese.

Bake 15-30 minutes or until the cheese is melted to your liking – or just until they are heated through.

That’s it!  Yummy leftover mashed potato cakes!

IMG_4061

IMG_4037

IMG_4044

IMG_4055

IMG_4063

Leave a Reply

