4-Ingredient Easy Enchilada Mac and Cheese (Slow Cooker or Baked)

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2015

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

4-6-15 (25)

4-6-15 (10)

bathingandthesinglegirlcover

vromans-back

I made this using 8 ingredients but 4 of them are actually optional – so I will list them that way below.

This is the easiest thing ever – if you make it with a slow cooker.  My only issue was that I left it in my slow cooker for too long & it dried out a bit but adding more milk and some vegetable stock thinned it back out.

This is pretty dairy heavy so it would be tough to make it vegan – though if you can find high quality vegan alternatives for the dairy ingredients – then give it a shot.

This recipe is for a fuckton of mac & cheese.  I made it for Easter dinner & I had 12 people over & everybody left with mac & cheese.  So – cut it in half if you are not feeding a large party.

I like to mix up the noodles I use – and I used these here – but any pasta will do.

4-6-15 (3)

4-6-15 (16)

4-6-15 (37)

Easy Enchilada Mac and Cheese (Slow Cooker or Baked)

Serves a shitload

INGREDIENTS

2 lbs pasta – cooked al dente

32 oz grated cheese (I used 1/2 pepper jack & 1/2 Mexican blend but sharp cheddar would be good, too)

32 oz red enchilada sauce ( actually used 48 oz because of the length of time my pasta sat in the cooker)

2 cups milk (I used unsweetened almond milk) – plus more – in the event your mac & cheese gets too dry

~

OPTIONAL ingredients: (I used all of them)

6 garlic cloves – minced 

8 oz cream cheese 

1 cup sour cream 

12 oz can evaporated milk

Garnish – avocado, diced tomato, cilantro, sour cream, hot sauce, jalapeno peppers

IMG_3888

4-6-15 (20)

4-6-15 (21)

4-6-15 (22)

DIRECTIONS

Slow cooker:

Put everything in there & heat on high (stirring occasionally) for 2-3 hours or until everything is melted & well-combined.  If it gets too thick – add more milk.

Baked:

Heat the oven to 350.   Make the pasta & then combine it in a large bowl with the other ingredients.  Transfer into casserole dish(es) – treated with cooking spray.  Bake for 30-45 minutes or until the cheese is melted & bubbling at the sides.

Garnish at will.

4-6-15 (17)

4-6-15 (31)

Leave a Reply

