Vegan Indian Chicken Coconut Curry (Slow Cooker)

2 Comments

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2015

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

3-29-15 (12)

3-29-15 (58)

bathingandthesinglegirlcover

vromans-back

I have been making Indian food since the eighties.  I love it!  On this blog, I have shared

my Smoked & Spicy Indian Eggplant Curry (Vegan – Vegetarian) –

9-10-14-77

my Indian Yellow Curry Cauliflower with Coconut Milk & Forbidden Black Rice (part 2 of a 3 curry meal) –

4-19-13-83

my Indian Spinach & Garbanzo Curry Pot Pie Cupcakes in Homemade Herbed Tart Crust –

12-12-12-40

my Indian Lentil Soup with Fresh Fenugreek & Harissa Spiced Tomatoes –

10-17-12-17

my North Indian Chana Masala or Sour & Spicy Chick Pea Stew with Basmati Rice –

024

my Potato and Cauliflower Tikka Masala – Vegetarian or Vegan or Not – for the Slow Cooker! –

img_1819

my Saag Aloo or Kale, Spinach & Pan-Roasted Potato Curry (Vegetarian or Vegan) –

1-21-14-79

my Spicy Vegan Chicken and Mushroom Curry with Cauliflower and Chickpeas –

10-1-14-184

my Vegan Slow Cooker Red Curry Lentils –

11-9-14-67

my Easy Vegan Spicy Lamb Curry

6-4a-14-1

my Vegan Crockpot Beef & Potato Coconut Curry Stew –

5-21-67

my Vegan Cauliflower, Kale & Chickpea Curry for the Slow Cooker –

1-21-14-172

my Red Kidney Bean Curry or Rajma –

4-22a-13-111

my Potato Masala with Forbidden Black Rice (part 3 of a 3 curry meal) 

4-19-13-321

my Vegan Chana Masala or Chick Pea & Spinach Curry

073

my Vegan Beef, Potato & Squash Curry with Gluten-Free Cauliflower “Rice” –

BEEF

and my personal favorite – Vegan Punjabi Baingan Bharta – A Spicy Roasted Eggplant Dish from India with Basmati Rice

05321

BUT – this dish today has to be the easiest BY FAR and it is so fucking delicious – I can hardly stand it!   Just throw the ingredients into a slow cooker & come back in two hours and HOLY SHIT!  The house smells like an Indian restaurant & the curry is SO yummy & creamy & vegan!  So – what is your excuse?

Go buy some Beyond Meat chicken & get the party started!

11-23-14 (19)

3-29-15 (16)

3-29-15 (34)

3-29-15 (46)

Vegan Indian Chicken Coconut Curry (Slow Cooker)

Serves four or more – especially with rice

INGREDIENTS

(any vegetables work but I used the ones listed)

9 oz vegan chicken

1 tomato – diced

5 mushrooms – sliced

1 onion – diced

1 cup peas

1 cup dry (or canned) chickpeas

4 cloves garlic – chopped

1 TBS ginger – minced

6 oz tomato paste

1 (15 oz) can lite coconut milk

1 can Rotel (or 15 oz diced tomatoes)

1 TBS turmeric

1 TBS chili powder

1 TBS curry powder

1 TBS garam masala (if you can’t find it – make it – recipe HERE)

10 green cardamom pods (if you can’t find it – blow it off)

1 TBS cornstarch

2 cups vegetable stock

1 TBS nutritional yeast (very optional)

Cooked rice

Cilantro as garnish

3-29-15 (5)

3-29-15 (6)

3-29-15 (22)

DIRECTIONS

Put everything except the peas & cilantro into a slow cooker.  Set on high.  Cook two hours or until the chick peas are tender (not an issue if you used canned ones).

Stir in the peas.

Serve with rice & garnish with cilantro.

It don’t get easier than that, bitchez!

3-29-15 (60)

3-29-15 (37)

3-29-15 (47)

2 thoughts on “Vegan Indian Chicken Coconut Curry (Slow Cooker)

Leave a Reply

