Fried Sage and Mushroom Pizza – A Vegetarian or Vegan Thanksgiving Alternative

1 Comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

10-20-14 (180)

10-20-14 (182)

 

What can what say about pizza except, “Yes, please!”?

I love pizza.  I love sage.  I love mushrooms.  WTF?  Why haven’t I posted this pizza before?

I usually make my own sauce but this particular Rao’s is like crack for me & I use it when I am feeling very lazy, in a hurry or if I just don’t have the ingredients to make a sauce.

10-20-14 (155)

It has a genuine kick & a great texture and I can literally eat it cold out of the jar with a spoon.  It is $$ but it is SO worth it!

I made my own dough (and always do) but I use this pizza dough recipe from SAVEUR – though I just dump all the ingredients into my bread machine (without letting the yeast do its thing) and I let the machine knead.  I also tend to use the dough the same day – but it makes enough for at least 4 individual pizzas so it takes a few days for me to get through it all.  If making your own dough is not your idea of fun – use your favorite store version.

10-20-14 (172)

10-20-14 (195)

 

10-20-14 (202)

With many recipes, the quantity of each ingredient really depends on one’s personal preferences.  I like spicy food & I like thin crust pizza with toppings that do not overwhelm.  You might like a marinara or a thick pizza & triple cheese.  So – I will just tell you what I used – without strict quantities listed – and you make this bad boy to suit your own tastes.  The flavors here are reminiscent of the traditional Thanksgiving tastes – and nobody has to die!

Fried Sage and Mushroom Pizza

INGREDIENTS

Pizza dough (I use THIS recipe)

Sauce (I used Rao’s Arrabbiata)

A handful of mushrooms – sliced

Garlic cloves (I left mine whole but you can chop yours)

Fresh sage

Butter or olive oil

S&P

Mozzarella cheese (fresh in water is best but I used the cheap grated shit & it was delicious) – or vegan alternative

10-20-14 (145)

10-20-14 (151)

10-20-14 (149)

10-20-14 (157) 10-20-14 (158)

10-20-14 (159)

10-20-14 (160)

10-20-14 (161)

DIRECTIONS

Get your oven all the way to 450-500 degrees.  Full temp is important.

Melt 1-2 TBS butter or olive oil over medium-high heat & fry the sage for about a minute.  Do not burn it.  It should still look green & even still seems soft.  Remove the sage leaves with tongs or a slotted spoon & drain them on paper towels.  Raise the heat to high & fry the mushrooms and garlic in the sage-infused butter/oil.  Cook them until they are to your liking.   Set aside.

Roll out the dough to your preferred thickness.  Put it on some kind of cooking sheet.  I use a really cheap, old, round pizza pan topped with parchment paper but I could just treat it with cooking spray.  I have come to really love parchment paper, though, because nothing seems to stick to it & it because it looks pretty when it comes out of the oven.

I pre-cooked my crust after brushing it with olive oil (as you can see in the images) but I don’t really recommend that unless you are topping your pizza as lightly as you would a flatbread.  Just top it raw.

Add some sauce, mushrooms, sage & cheese.  I left my sage whole but can crumble yours, if you prefer.

Bake 8-12 minutes or until it is cooked to your liking.

Slice it up.  Eat it.  Make another.  Eat that, too.  Fuck it!  It is the holidays!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!!!

Marilyn Monroe circa 1951 ** I.V.

Marilyn Monroe circa 1951 ** I.V.

10-20-14 (176)

10-20-14 (179)

10-20-14 (185)

10-20-14 (196)

 

One thought on “Fried Sage and Mushroom Pizza – A Vegetarian or Vegan Thanksgiving Alternative

Leave a Reply

