Vegan Slow Cooker Red Curry Lentils

6 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

11-9-14 (79)

11-9-14 (68)

11-5-14-48

Slow cookers.  Mmmmmm!  So satisfying.  Like I said in my Baked Rigatoni with Spicy Slow Cooker Fennel and Grilled Eggplant Sauce and Smoked Mozzarella (Scamorza) post – coming home to a house filled with the aroma of a fresh cooked meal is the next best thing to having a wife.  Or a husband.  Because the dogs just never seem to get motivated enough to cook.  Or maybe they do – but they just eat it all up themselves.

Either way – a slow cooker can be a dreamy thing.  Some recipes, like my pasta above, require a bit of prep & post work but THIS one does not.  Just throw everything into the slow cooker & go away.  I did.  For TEN HOURS.  And I came home to a delicious & healthy meal with enough left over that I will have a nice lunch to warm for several days, too.

I used this slow cooker here because it has low & high settings.

11-9-14 (14) 11-9-14 (15)

I have three other slow cookers but one is TINY and best used to heat dips that are supposed to be served warm, another is pretty small with no settings & I did not feel safe leaving it unattended all day & the last one is just huge.  So – I dragged this beauty out & just used the center bowl.

This is not particularly spicy so I added sriracha when I served it but you could add more spice (or less) from the beginning – according to your taste.

11-9-14 (76)

This could also be made stove top in just the time it takes to cook the lentils but you might want to saute the onions a bit first to soften them.

Vegan Slow Cooker Red Curry Lentils

feeds at least 4 very very well with rice

INGREDIENTS

3 cups lentils ( I used pink/red ones but any would do – though pink will be prettiest)

1 TBS olive oil

26 oz strained tomatoes

1 small onion – diced

4 garlic cloves – minced

2 tsp fresh grated ginger (or 1 tsp dry ground ginger) – I used jarred

1 tsp ground cumin

4 TBS red curry paste

2 tsp turmeric

2 tsp salt

1-3 tsp cayenne pepper (according to your tolerance for heat)

2 tsp garam masala (recipe below if you cannot find it as garam masala)

1 TBS harissa or other hot sauce – like sriracha

4 cups water

1 (14 oz) can coconut milk (I used lite but regular is fine)

Chopped cilantro as garnish (and cook some rice to serve the lentils over – I used brown Basmati)

11-9-14 (37)

11-9-14 (16)

11-9-14 (17)

11-9-14 (18)

11-9-14 (20)

11-9-14 (21)

11-9-14 (24)

11-9-14 (27)

11-9-14 (30)

11-9-14 (44) 11-9-14 (72)

DIRECTIONS

Here is the beautiful part.  Just stick all the ingredients EXCEPT THE COCONUT MILK & CILANTRO into a slow cooker & set it on low.  Go away for 8-10 hours.  Or set it on high and it should be done in 2-3 hours.   When you are ready to serve it – stir in the coconut milk & serve over steamed rice.  Garnish with cilantro & maybe additional hot sauce.

Enjoy!

11-9-14 (57) 11-9-14 (75)

Garam Masala

INGREDIENTS

1/2 tsp ground coriander

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1/4 tsp ground cardamom

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

6 thoughts on “Vegan Slow Cooker Red Curry Lentils

  1. Just had this last night. It was very tasty. Thank you! Since there are only two of us, I froze half of the lentils (before adding coconut milk) for another time. I understand that coconut milk doesn’t freeze well, as it separates when thawed. The next time I make this — and I will because it was so good, I think I’ll add some carrots.

    Thanks again.

    Debby

    Like

Leave a Reply

