EASY Homemade Crunchy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

2 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

11-3-14 (174)

11-3-14 (186)

OK – I am not really a fan of pumpkin seeds.  Or, at least I wasn’t until YESTERDAY when I roasted up some of my own!  Wow!  So easy & so yummy!  You will never throw pumpkin seeds away again.  Trust.

EASY Homemade Crunchy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

INGREDIENTS

Pumpkin seeds

Olive oil

Sea salt (fine)

IMG_9598

11-3-14 (165)

11-3-14 (166)

11-3-14 (167)

11-3-14 (168)

DIRECTIONS

Heat the oven to about 325.

Get a large bowl of water & put the messy seed mix in there.  Separate the seeds from the flesh & the seeds all float to the top.  Use a slotted spoon & get those suckers outta there.

Boil some water & add a tsp of salt.  Lower the heat, add the seeds &  simmer the seeds, uncovered, for about 10 minutes & then drain them.

I let them set out to dry a bit & then tossed them with just a hint of olive oil.

Spread them on a cooking sheet in as thin a layer as you can – trying to minimize overlap so all the seeds get heat equally.  Sprinkle with a little salt & bake for about 10 minutes.

Take them out & stir them around.

Now continue roasting in 5 minute increments because you DO NOT want to burn these.  They are done when they are just starting to look golden but the real test is how they chew.  So – cool a few off each time you test them & eat them.  They are done when they chew easily & are nice & crunchy!

I stored mine in a jar on the counter & I steal some every time I walk by.  SO TASTY!

11-3-14 (176)

11-3-14 (179)

11-3-14 (188)

2 thoughts on “EASY Homemade Crunchy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

  1. I have never made or even eaten pumpkin seeds before so I was VERY excited to try this recipe. The day after Thanksgiving I decorated outside for Christmas which meant the pumpkin had to go. I thought of your pumpkin curry post and of all those unused pumpkins and didn’t want mine to be a statistic. After all, Jack-o-lanterns are the only thing with a face I will eat. 😉 That said, I followed your recipe to the tee and I have been converted! Soooo yummy. I cannot wait to make them again. I considered acorn squash and spaghetti squash seeds. Will those work too? I may give that a shot. Love all of your posts and tricks and stories!!! Thanks for all of the terrific recipes.

    Like

    • When I saw the length of this post of yours – my heart started racing because most people don’t take that much time to say something NICE! So – I speed-read it trying to find the “but…”

      And there wasn’t one! Yay! SO HAPPY you tried & loved the seeds! Aren’t they addictive? I am not sure if other gourds would work but I have a bunch – so I will try! If you try – will you tell me the results? THANKS SO MUCH for the kind words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

