Fresh Vegan Pasta Dough and Spaghetti with Broccoli Pesto

Leave a comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

 9-7-14 (38)

9-7-14 (39)

vromans front vromans back

 

I am not vegan but I like to minimize my egg consumption.  I make homemade pasta all the time & I adore it.  I have posted recipes here for regular pasta dough, spinach pasta dough, kale pasta dough, beet pasta dough, cilantro & serrano pasta dough and arugula pasta dough but each of these used eggs.

I hunted around a bit & found THIS recipe on The Passionate Parsley blog.  Many of the other recipes I found seemed really to just be this one – so I tried it.

Vegan Pasta Dough

5.5 c all purpose flour (more as needed)
1.5 c water (more as needed)
1/2 t turmeric
1 t sea salt
2 t olive oil

I just mixed all this in my bread machine & then, after I let it rest a bit, I made spaghetti from it using my stand mixer & THIS awesome attachment.

To be honest – I prefer the non-vegan pasta substantially.  I found that this vegan version has a less pleasant texture & a far stronger flavor of flour.  So – where I recommend delicate toppings for the egg pastas so their subtleties can be appreciated – I think this vegan pasta needs more powerfully flavored sauces – even more flavorful than this broccoli pesto – but that is just me.

img89c

(photo stolen from HERE)

You could do this or, if you are ambitious, make it all by hand as instructed by The Passionate Parsley blog.

I added a but more turmeric than suggested & my spaghetti looked like this as it sat out drying.

9-7-14 (10) 9-7-14 (13)

I happened to have a boatload of broccoli around & decided to make a vegan pesto from it to top the noodles.

9-7-14 (6)

Vegan Broccoli Pesto

INGREDIENTS

2+ cups broccoli (steamed or boiled for 3 minutes or until vibrant & tender – drained & rinsed with cold water)

1/4 cup raw almonds

1/2 cup parsley

1/2 cup fresh mint

3-4 tsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp lemon zest

4 garlic cloves

1/4 cup olive oil

S&P

water

1/2 cup vegan (or real) Parmesan (I did not use this but I think it needs it)

Parsley or basil as garnish

9-7-14 (31)

9-7-14 (45)

9-7-14 (8)

DIRECTIONS

Blend everything in a food processor until smooth.  Add water if need be to thin it.  Or olive oil but I feel water is just fine.  S&P to taste.

If you want to – add some vegan (or real) Parmesan & blend it in.  Keep at room temperature because this is a raw pesto that just mixes in with the warm pasta.

When you are ready to eat – boil the pasta until it floats & drain.  Drizzle some olive oil on it & toss to prevent it from sticking.  Then toss with a small amount of pesto & add in increments until it is the way you like it.

Garnish with grated vegan (or real) cheese & chopped herbs.

9-7-14 (34)

9-7-14 (52)

9-7-14 (56)

 

Leave a Reply

