One-Pot Vegan Sausage and Broccoflower Pasta with Chickpeas

Leave a comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

7-23a-14 (3)

7-23a-14 (30)

One pot dishes are so satisfying.  Almost as satisfying as crock pot recipes.  This one could be done a variety of ways.  I chose to cook the onion & sausage together first & then put them aside & cook pasta.   If the texture (al dente or whatever) of your pasta is critical to you – cook the pasta first, drain it & then add it to the pan after you cook the sausage up.

You could use real sausage but I don’t eat that shit – so – I used these guys.

7-23-14 (52)

7-23-14 (53)

They are labeled vegetarian but their website refers to them as vegan.  Are they as powerfully flavorful as a pork version would be?  No.  But when you consider that – when you buy vegan sausage – nobody who started life looking like this – (photo snagged from Google)

pig-1024x576

was then forced into brutally inhumane living conditions & tortured their entire life & savagely slaughtered – well then maybe you might find the flavor concession a small price to pay to be able to eat “sausage” and still look this little guy in the face guiltlessly.  That was a confusing run-on sentence but I think you get my meaning.  The other advantage is that these are far less greasy & lower in calories.

7-23a-14 (11) 7-23a-14 (17)

I used broccoflower because I had it but broccoli or cauliflower would work, too.  I love chickpeas & they are very good for you – so I added them – but they are not critical.  I just like to load my pasta dishes with a lot of filling & healthy extras so that I end up eating less actual pasta.  This is just a personal preference – and – I am trying to drop a few pounds before I go off to shoot a film in Mississippi next month – so – broccoflower was a perfect addition here.

7-23a-14 (35)

One-Pot Vegan Sausage and Broccoflower Pasta with Chickpeas

Serves 2 very well

INGREDIENTS

1/2 lb dry pasta

1/2 onion – diced

2 (or more) large vegan sausages

1 head broccoflower (or substitute of your choice) – cut into bite-sized florets

1 (15 oz) can chickpeas – drained

4 garlic cloves – minced

Olive oil

1-3 tsp crushed red pepper (I used three – but I love spice!)

3 cups vegetable stock (or water & bouillon)

1 TBS lemon just & 1 tsp lemon zest (optional)

1/2 cup shredded basil – as garnish (parsley would work, too)

S&P to taste

7-23-14 (57)

7-23-14 (54)

7-23-14 (55)

DIRECTIONS

OK – so – as I said – this can be done by either cooking & draining the pasta & broccoflower first & adding it later or, as I did, cooking the sausage & onion first.  Cooking the pasta first allows you to better control how well it is cooked but doing it second infuses the pasta with veggie stock – so – your call.  I am gonna list the directions as I did it.

In a large pot, heat 1-3 TBS olive oil over medium heat & saute the onion, sausage & crushed red pepper until the onion is soft & the sausage begins to brown.  Not a science – just eyeball it – and when you think it is done – add the garlic & stir it in for about a minute – then set it aside.

In that same pot, add the vegetable stock, chickpeas, pasta & the lemon juice & zest.  Bring to a boil & cook it according to the instructions on your pasta label – BUT – 3 minutes before the pasta is supposed to be done – add the broccoflower & cover.   You MIGHT have to add a bit of water to keep things from drying out – though I did not.  Cook the remaining time left of the pasta.  Check it now – by testing the doneness of both the pasta & vegetable.  I like my veggies with some crunch – so – this timed perfectly for me.  If you feel it needs more time – keep cooking it & even add more water – if you think it needs it.  If it is too wet, cook it down.  When it seems ready – add the sausage & onion & stir to incorporate it.  Serve with basil or parsley & shove it in your pie hole with no regard for decency.  Look up pictures of cutie piglets & feel superior.  You earned it.

7-23-14 (56) IMG_6503

7-23a-14 (34)

7-23a-14 (4)

7-23a-14 (7)

7-23a-14 (41)

 

The top video there is trailer for my novel.  The second is me reading from it a while back – at Vroman’s.

BathingandthesinglegirlCover

vromans back

 

Leave a Reply

