Garlic and Ginger Cauliflower Rice

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

7-19-14 (104)

7-19-14 (90)

This is not my first recipe for cauliflower rice.    I posted Easy Cilantro Scallion Lime Cauliflower Rice

7-8a-14 (73)

and Spicy Thai Fried Cauliflower Rice

9-27-13-39

and Spicy Orange Cauliflower with Cauliflower Fried Rice 

9-15a-13-69

and Cauliflower Sushi Rice.

059

It really is a wonderful & easy substitution for real rice & comes together even faster.

I used coconut oil but olive oil would work.  Coconut oil adds a nice layer of flavor to this, though.  I also had a HUGE head of cauliflower which produced about 6-8 cups of cauliflower rice.  If you have a smaller one – adjust the ingredients.

7-19-14 (105)

Garlic and Ginger Cauliflower Rice

INGREDIENTS

1 head cauliflower – grated on a grater or in a food processor with the grater blade (I ended up with 7-ish cups)

3 TBS coconut oil (or olive oil)

10 garlic cloves – minced

4 TBS ginger – grated fine

2 TBS rice vinegar

salt to taste

Scallions – sliced – as garnish

7-19-14 (82)

DIRECTIONS

I used a large wok that I cooked my Garlic & Ginger Green Beans in so you can see remnants of that dish in the pan.  The two dishes really do compliment each other so I recommend the pairing!

Grate your cauliflower.  Heat coconut oil in a wok (or other large saute pan) over high heat.  Add the cauliflower & stir it so it all gets a little oil on it & cook until soft – maybe 5-8 minutes.    At the end – add the garlic & ginger & rice vinegar.  Stir to incorporate & maybe add a bit of salt.  Add a few sliced scallions & you are good to go!

7-19-14 (84)

7-19-14 (111)

The top video there is trailer for my novel.  The second is me reading from it a while back – at Vroman’s.

BathingandthesinglegirlCover

vromans back

Leave a Reply

