Grilled Caramelized Peaches with Burrata and Mint Pistachio Pesto

3 Comments

 

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

7-11-14 (65)

7-11-14 (92)

 

These are pretty easy & really special.  I added brown sugar to caramelize the peaches but, in the future, I will not as I think they are plenty sweet on their own.  I caramelized them in butter but olive oil is just as good.

Burrata is basically a ball of fresh mozzarella filed with a creamier & softer version of the same cheese.  If you haven’t tried it you must!  If you cannot find it (TRader Joe’s & Costco both typically carry it) – just use the best grade fresh mozzarella you can find.

7-11-14 (39)

7-11-14 (86)

7-11-14 (95)

 

Grilled Caramelized Peaches with Burrata and Mint Pistachio Pesto

This serves two as an appetizer

INGREDIENTS

2 peaches cut into 1/2 inch slices

2 burrata balls

butter or olive oil

Brown sugar (optional)

Mint Pistachio Pesto

Basil micro greens as garnish – if you want to be SUPER fancy & spend $5 on garnish

Extra pistachios as garnish

7-11-14 (13)

7-11-14 (30)

7-11-14 (31)

7-11-14 (32)

7-11-14 (33)

7-11-14 (104)

 

7-11-14 (69)

7-11-14 (89)

 

DIRECTIONS

Make the Mint Pistachio pesto (and thin it with water a bit).

You can grill the peaches on a grill or in a grill pan – or even in a saute pan.  If you want the peaches caramelized – press them into some brown sugar & caramelize them over med-high heat for about 3-4 minutes on each side in some melted butter – or just rub olive oil on them & grill them until they get grill marks & soften a bit.  Your call.  They will be great either way.

Then just plate them up with the burrata (or sliced fresh mozzarella) & drizzle with the mint & pistachio pesto.  Lots of cracked pepper & a far amount of sea salt really bring the flavors together.  I promise!

7-11-14 (61)

7-11-14 (78)

7-11-14 (99)

7-11-14 (106)

 

 

 

The top video there is trailer for my novel.  The second is me reading from it a while back – at Vroman’s.

BathingandthesinglegirlCover

vromans back

 

3 thoughts on “Grilled Caramelized Peaches with Burrata and Mint Pistachio Pesto

    • Thanks! This blog is just a hobby for me. I am an actress & author – professionally – and that video is of me reading from my novel that was released a few months ago – and I am reading from it at the historic Vroman’s. Pardon me for promoting the book but it is the proudest achievement of my life…

      Like

      • cool! I was just wondering if it was done deliberately. Again love the blog, the reading is awesome too 🙂 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

