Lemon Custard Ice Cream

Leave a comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

7-10-14 (22)

7-10-14 (41)

The badass, Miles Miller, is coming to LA tomorrow for the first time in 4 months.  I haven’t seen him in three months.  I am very excited!!!  Miles is a notoriously fussy eater but one thing he loves consistently is lemon.   I asked him one time what his favorite ice cream was & his response was lemon custard.  LEMON CUSTARD?  Yikes!  I was hoping for something a little less exotic and something I could whip up for him.  It has taken me a year to work up the courage to attempt this.  I have no sweet tooth myself & I seldom make desserts but OMG!  This stuff was crazy easy & RIDICULOUSLY creamy & lemony & just all-around awesome!  I cannot recommend this with more enthusiasm!!!  I could have a pint of ice cream in my freezer for a year & never even be tempted to touch it but I ate a boat load of this before I even put it in the ice cream maker.  OUTRAGEOUS!

7-10-14 (15)

7-10-14 (21)

7-10-14 (43)

7-10-14 (37)

Lemon Custard Ice Cream

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup whole milk

2 cups heavy cream

1/4 cup FRESH SQUEEZED lemon juice (do not use cheap bottled stuff)

1/2 cup lemon curd (found with the jellies & jams, typically)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup sugar

1 (3.4 oz) package lemon pudding mix

7-10-14 (9)

7-10-14 (10)

7-10-14 (11)

7-10-14 (46)

DIRECTIONS

Whip the ingredients together with an electric mixer until it gets to the consistency of pudding.

Put in your ice cream maker & follow the manufacturer instructions.  Try not to eat it all before you turn it into ice cream because I promise you – you will be tempted.

Done!

7-10-14 (18)

7-10-14 (30)

7-10-14 (34)

7-10-14 (44)

 

The top video there is trailer for my novel.  The second is me reading from it a while back – at Vroman’s.

BathingandthesinglegirlCover

vromans back

 

Leave a Reply

