Vegan Orange Mango Chili Chicken with Broccoli & Snow Peas

Leave a comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

Image

vromans front vromans back

Image

OK – before I get into this awesome & easy recipe – I want to humbly & graciously thank everyone who read my outpouring recently in Up & Down & Life in The Vagina Monologues.  Even though I could not will myself NOT to write it, writing it was very painful (but very cathartic) & I am very grateful for all the support that resulted from folks reading it.  I was especially impressed by how many MEN read it – all the way through – and wrote me privately to thank me for publishing it.  Women thanked me, too.  And I am moved by all your kind words – all of you.

THANK YOU!  And if you liked that blog post – have you heard?  I wrote a novel – in much the same voice but, I hope, far funnier!  🙂

www.BathingBook.com  I hope you read it!!!!

Image

Image

OK – so, now we move on to food!  This could be made with real chicken – just be sure to cook it all the way through.

This is easy & yummy & you can add any vegetables you like.  I just happened to have snow peas from my Healthy Vegan Chinese Chicken Salad with Spicy Asian Dressing and I almost always have broccoli around.

Image

Image

BYMT_MicroMarketing_FreeCoupon

I used my favorite brand of vegan chicken – Beyond Meat – seen above along with a coupon to get some FREE!   Look HERE to find out who carries it near you.

This is very easy & very healthy & you can whip it up in the time it takes to make the rice.

As to peeling mangos – check out a video or tutorial HERE or you might just end up with mango mush & juice.

Image

Image

Vegan Orange Mango Chili Chicken with Broccoli & Snow Peas

Feeds 2 VERY well

INGREDIENTS

Rice

9 oz vegan chicken

1 TBS low sodium soy sauce

1 TBS sesame oil

1 mango – cubed

1 orange – juice & zest

1-2 TBS low sodium soy sauce (additional)

1-2 TBS sesame oil – (additional)

1-2 TBS olive oil

1 shallot or 1/2 red (or other) onion – diced

20 snow peas – but into strips (or not – if you prefer them whole)

2 cups broccoli – cut into tiny florets

2 TBS chili sauce (sambal oelek or sriracha)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

DIRECTIONS

Get your rice cooking as per directions

Thaw (1 minute in the microwave or 30 minutes on the counter) the faux chicken.  Cube it up & then toss it in its bag with 1 TBS each or soy sauce & sesame oil.  Set aside.

Image

Zest the orange.  Set zest aside & cut the orange in half.  Set aside.

Heat the olive oil in a wok or other large saute pan over med-high heat.  Add the shallot (or onion), orange zest, snow peas & broccoli.  Saute for 3-5 minutes or so or until the vegetables begin to soften.  Add the chicken, additional soy sauce & sesame oil & the chili sauce & the juice from the orange.  Stir & heat through.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Once the sauce thickens – in just a few minutes – stir in the mango.  Once it is all warm – serve that shit up over some rice.

Then – go to AMAZON & read the reviews & maybe buy my book!

And thanks again for all the kind words on my Up & Down & Life in The Vagina Monologues!

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

