Avocado & Jalapeno Quesadilla with Vegan Sriracha Mayo Dipping Sauce

Leave a comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

Image

Is a quesadilla REALLY a recipe?  Of course not.  But I made one yesterday & I photographed it & now I am going to share the details.

The only news here for me are these uncooked tortillas.

Image

Image

 

They really DO heat (in a dry pan) in sixty seconds and, for some reason, I feel way classier using them.  If you want go get crazy & make homemade tortillas – like the spinach ones I made in the photo below – the recipe is HERE.  They are really easy but they do take longer than sixty seconds.

Image

 

Image

Image

 

Image

Vegan Sriracha Mayo Dipping Sauce

Blend 1/3 cup vegan (or regular) mayo with 1-2 TBS sriracha.

Image

Avocado & Jalapeno Quesadilla

INGREDIENTS

Tortillas – I used the uncooked ones but any kind will do

Cheese (vegan or otherwise) – I used a pizza blend of cheddar & mozzarella

Avocado – sliced

Jalapeno – seeded & diced

Tomato – diced

Cilantro

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

DIRECTIONS

If using the uncooked tortillas, cook them up until they JUST begin to brown – like you see above.  When those are ready – assemble the quesadilla in a grill or frying pan over med-high heat.  I stacked cheese & tomato & jalapeno & then avocado (I forgot to add the cilantro!), topped it with another tortilla & pressed it with the lid from another pan.  After a few minutes – maybe 2 – I flipped it.  When it was nicely browned on both sides – I sliced it up & drizzled it with the sriracha mayo & shoved it in my face like it was my first meal in weeks.  I then sat in a food coma for several hours.  It happens.  Don’t judge.

Image

Image

ImageImageImage

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

