Vegan Meatloaf Cupcakes with Sriracha Mashed Potatoes

1 Comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

Image

 

 

3-27a-14 (68)

 

These are pretty yummy and can be made with any sort of meatloaf – whether meat or vegetarian or vegan.  I made this up from things I thought would be in real meatloaf – without the meat – even though I have never made meatloaf before. I know real meatloaf recipes usually require eggs but I was determined to make this vegan WITHOUT making a run to the store for special ingredients.  I whipped the resulting “meat” into a puree in my food processor – because I wanted it to be as authentic seeming as possible.  So many vegan meatloaf recipes result in evident rolled oats & other visible ingredients that would tip off to a meat eater that they were getting something “healthy.”

My only warning about these is that they were a tad hard to get out of the cupcake pan because they were very soft & moist.  That is a good thing for eating but a bad thing for presentation so – simply remedy!  Use paper or foil cupcake liners.  Or maybe let them cool a bit before trying to move them but the paper liners seem foolproof – so I recommend very highly that you use them.

This recipe made 7 cupcakes and two of them filled me to capacity for dinner.  So – I would guess this recipe safely feeds three as a main course – with maybe a side veggie.  Use my Vegan Sriracha Mashed Potatoes recipe HERE or whatever mashed potato recipe you prefer – or try mashed cauliflower!

3-27a-14 (25)

3-27a-14 (38)

3-27a-14 (58)

 Vegan Meatloaf Cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

1 lb meatless ground beef

1-2 TBS olive oil

5 celery stalks – diced

1 onion – diced

1 jalapeno – seeded & diced (optional)

4 garlic cloves – chopped

1/4 cup fresh parsley – chopped

2 tsp dry oregano

1 tsp pepper

Salt to taste

1 tsp vegan Worcestershire sauce or tamari

1 TBS sriracha

1/4 cup ketchup

1/4 BBQ sauce

2 TBS Dijon mustard

1/4 cup breadcrumbs

2 tsp onion powder

2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dry sage

Extra ketchup or BBQ sauce as a glaze

Cupcake liners

Scallions & sriracha as garnish

3-27a-14 (66)

3-27a-14 (3)

3-27a-14 (7)

 

DIRECTIONS

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Make your MASHED POTATOES.  Set aside.

Heat the olive oil over medium heat & saute the onions & celery until soft.  Then – pretty much add all the other ingredients & blend together.

3-27a-14 (5)

3-27a-14 (6)

3-27a-14 (8)

If you are using cupcake liners – you can just start shoving this meatloaf into the cupcake pan.  Either way – you might choose to do what I did – which was puree this shit in a food processor.

3-27a-14 (10)

3-27a-14 (13)

3-27a-14 (14)

 

I really recommend using cupcake lines but, if you do not, grease the cupcake pan with cooking spray & put the meatloaf in the pan.  Top each with a little ketchup or BBQ sauce & bake for about 30 minutes.  When they have cooled a bit – pop those bad boys out & top with mashed potatoes.  I left mine like this & reheated them for about 20 minutes at 350 when I was ready to eat.  If you are rearing to go – top those potatoes with sriracha & some chopped scallions.  Settle in & eat them all if you want.  Then – in a food coma – navigate your ass to www.BathingBook.com and buy my book!  Read the reviews!  IT IS A HILARIOUS book – I promise!

3-27a-14 (64)

LARGE BathingandthesinglegirlOrangeV52

One thought on “Vegan Meatloaf Cupcakes with Sriracha Mashed Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Vegan Sriracha Mashed Potatoes | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

Leave a Reply

