Desano Pizza Bakery – East Hollywood, California

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2014

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

Image

Apologies!  I have been a REALLY naughty blogger!  Or rather – a very distracted one.  My badass boyfriend was in town for the last two weeks & that is always distracting.  But, add in the work I am doing for Waterfront Film Festival & auditions I have as an actress & trying to promote my new novel – well, the blog took a back seat so far back – it was like a can dragging behind a wedding car.

Image

The book (for sale HERE) is doing well.  Check out the reviews on Amazon!  I am very flattered!

Image

OK – so – while I do have a few recipes I mean to spring on you soon, my first post back will be about this AMAZING pizza place – DESANO – that I discovered out in the no-man’s land that is Santa Monica Boulevard east of Normandie.  It is all car parts & body shops & little huts that look like places to buy all the bits required for a Santeria ritual.  It is as run-down & vacant-seeming as Santa Monica Boulevard gets and hardly the place one might find amazing & authentic Italian pizza.  Miles & I were greeted by the owner in his thick & charming Italian accent.  What a delight!  No hipsters in too-tight baby T’s or facial hair from the cast of a Wild Bill Hickok biopic.  Just a regular person peddling pizza that is anything but regular.

Now – know that this place was suggested to us by our bartender, Stephanie, from one of our favorite watering holes & she sold this place so hard – that Miles suggested we have dinner there even though – EGADS! – they have no liquor license!  Know that Miles drinks beer with his eggs & bacon in the morning so – his agreeing to a booze-free dinner is epic.  We did inquire about the liquor license, however, as I, too, am wont to guzzle some (lots of!) vino with my meals & we were informed that they expected it soon.  Whew!

So – once parked in the ample parking lot, we entered through the door here –

Image

and entered this room –

Image

and then sort of wandered over to this open kitchen area –

Image

where we were informed that we had missed the real entrance entirely.  We were led to the place where one orders & we saw these crazy cannoli & the gelato bar.

Image

Image

Image

We were directed to order from a menu that reflected these selections –

Image

Miles got the Desano (I believe) and I got the Verdura.  We grabbed our beverages –

Image

and waited eagerly for our pizzas.  They arrived very quickly – maybe 5-10 minutes & they were glorious!

There is a little condiment bar with the expected pizza toppings – if you want to customize a bit.

Image

I made the mistake of getting a bit heavy-handed with that salt there – as it turned out to be THE saltiest salt on Earth but it did not dampen my pleasure much.  The pizzas were incredible & bizarrely filling.  Despite only being about 12″ personal pizzas – neither Miles nor I could eat more than half of one.  So we got boxes & had some for the next night.

People – this place is GREAT!  Run – do not walk – to East Hollywood & commence the gorging!

Desano PIzza Bakery!

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

