Breakfast or Brunch Pizza with Egg, Provolone & Arugula

2 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

Image

Every time I buy eggs that are not pastured (meaning the chickens really DO live outside & run around happy) I feel so evil & guilty.  And sometimes, I really think about that runny yolk & I cannot believe we all generally agree (excepting vegans) that eating it as acceptable.  It is really fucking gross if you think about what you are actually eating.  Sometimes, back when I ate shrimp, I’d think similar thoughts & I’d wonder why most people would shudder at the idea of eating a huge, grilled grub – but salivate over grilled shrimp.  Aren’t shrimp really just the giant grubs of the sea?  They look similar & must have the same texture but we shove them in our face without a second thought.

Anyway, I guess it was all the photographing of this pizza that made me think about the egg on it.  And I was really grossed out.

And then I ate it & it was glorious.

What a hideous hypocrite I am.

But, hey!  I wrote a novel & all the early word on the street is that it is exactly as hilarious as I promised it would be & it is full of all kinds of indulgent & hypocritical behavior as I outlined above – but FUNNY FUNNY FUNNY!  I promise!  www.BathingBook.com

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Bathing and the Single Girl by Christine Elise McCarthy

Bathing and the Single Girl

by Christine Elise McCarthy

Giveaway ends February 25, 2014.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter to win

BathingandthesinglegirlCover

2-8-14 (11) 2-8-14 (19)

So – this isn’t really a recipe.  It is just a suggestion.  You could add cooked bacon or sausage or scramble the egg first or use a different cheese.  The only real secret to this pizza is that the egg needs about 5 minutes in the oven at the end of the cooking process to be cooked but runny.  One cool thing is that the scallion I used was one I regrew myself from the throw away bit of another one.  Check out how (and which other veggies & herbs can be reused like this) – HERE.

2-4-14 (12)

2-8-14 (9)

2-8-14 (14)

Breakfast or Brunch Pizza with Egg, Provolone & Arugula

Pizza dough – I used THIS

Slices of provolone

eggs

Arugula

Olive oil

Fresh basil – chopped

Fresh thyme

Scallions – chopped

Tomato – diced

S&P

2-8-14 (3)

2-8-14 (4)

2-8-14 (5)

2-8-14 (17)

2-8-14 (20)

DIRECTIONS

Heat the oven to a full 450.

Roll out the dough.  Drizzle a little olive oil on it & sprinkle with thyme.  Add the provolone.  Cook about 5-18 minutes (depending on how thick your dough is etc) or until it seems ALMOST done.  Then carefully drop an egg onto the hot crust & add some tomato bits.

2-8-14 (6)

2-8-14 (7)

2-8-14 (8)

Cook another five minutes – more if you like the egg cooked more thoroughly/

Garnish with S&P, basil, scallions & the arugula.  Drizzle with olive oil, if you like.  Crack open the champagne & don’t go fucking it up with orange juice.

Eat your damned pizza & drink that champagne!  Oh – and READ MY BOOK!  🙂

2-8-14 (12)

2-8-14 (22)

2 thoughts on “Breakfast or Brunch Pizza with Egg, Provolone & Arugula

  1. Am new to your blog and live in sydney but love the pizssa recipe. Have just bought a pizza maker for my office and the girls will love it. Have you got the doug recipe? Also just ordered your book thru Amazon. 16 days to get here will drink champagne.

    Like

Leave a Reply

