Burrata & Arugula Pizza

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

Image

LOTS going on today. I joined this wine club – The Tasting Room.  For like $8 – they sent me this starter kit.

Image

Image

There are two whites on the right & four reds.  These are TINY bottles – not even a half glass in each.

Image

You go online & they give you a little survey as you taste them.  From your preferences, they determine the kinds of wine you are likely to enjoy & then begin sending you full-sized bottles of wine hand-picked for you.  Sounds cool, no?  I will keep you posted!

2-2-14 (4)

In tragic news – we lost Colonel Meow this week.  He has 370,000 Facebook followers!  He was a rescue & only lived 2 1/2 years.  No word yet on what took him from us so prematurely but I will miss being addressed as his minion & I will miss hearing about his demands for “Scotch & treaties.”

colonel_meow_101712_m

Ui6uJtg

Y5J2V

He was one glorious cat & I am very sorry for his family & their loss.

In happier news – some of you may remember Piglet, the mangy puppy I fostered this summer.  She was rescued looking like this:

Image

Image

While I had her – she improved a lot.

Image

Image

Image

Friends of mine adopted her & she is now called Trixie & here she is with her new & forever BFF.

Image

Isn’t THAT a happy tale?  Congratulations, Trixie!

My book is out & the first appearances of the paperback have begun.  Here is my friend, actor/writer, Frank John Hughes, holding the first physical copy I laid my eyes on – if only in this photo.

2-2-14 (41)

And here is a box of twenty that my friend Rose bought & that Amazon delivered ON A SUNDAY!

1614386_10151931347107475_69431546_o

This Saturday morning saw my badass boyfriend, Miles Miller, complete the first of four weeks shooting his first feature film, All the Birds Have Flown South.  Look at him here!  A mad genius at work – leaving observers stunned & awed.  HAWT!

1599598_10151931310957475_1859444983_o

2-2-14 (15)

2-2-14 (34)

And now onto pizza!  This isn’t really a recipe.  Like lots of my pizzas – this is a suggestion.  Doesn’t it look delicious?  IT IS!  And here is how you do it!

Burrata & Arugula Pizza

INGREDIENTS

Pizza dough (I used THIS)

Tomato – sliced paper thin

Burrata – ROOM TEMPERATURE

Arugula

Tomato sauce (jarred or homemade)

S&P

Olive oil (I used a basil-infused olive oil)

2-2-14 (24)

DIRECTIONS

Heat the oven to a full 450 degrees.

Treat a pizza cooking sheet with cooking spray.

Roll out some dough & place it on the cooking sheet.  Place tomato slices on it – leaving a border for the crust.  I put lots of S&P on it.  I filled in the gaps with a little tomato sauce.  Drizzle with a little oil.

2-2-14 (10)

2-2-14 (11)

2-2-14 (12)

Bake about 10 minutes (more or less – based on the performance of your oven & thickness of the dough & toppings).  Once it is pretty much done – simply top it with the room temperature, gooey burrata.  No need to heat it if your burrata is sufficiently creamy.  My burrata came in small balls & was less creamy filling than it was thick mozzarella casing – so I spread it on the pizza & put in back in the oven for only a minute or two.  You do not want to dry out or brown the burrata.

2-2-14 (19)

Add more S&P (if you like) & top the pizza with some naked arugula.  Drizzle with olive oil & slice that fucker up.  Oh!  And get online & order a copy of my book!  www.BathingBook.com  It is on sale today on Amazon for $9.59!!!

2-2-14 (17)

2-2-14 (28)

2-2-14 (32)

2-2-14 (36)

Leave a Reply

