Easy & Spicy Crock Pot Chicken & Chorizo Tacos – Vegan or Not!

Leave a comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

Image

OK – I made these because I had SO MUCH leftover Spicy Grilled Corn & Black Bean Salsa.  I always feels sorta bad when I post a recipe that makes an unreasonable quantity of something – like the Hoppin’ John recipe.  I feel like I should follow up immediately with alternative ways to use the leftovers.

So – I made tacos again yesterday (for the leftover salsa) & holy shite!  These bad boys came out incredible!  I recommend this taco recipe VERY highly not only because it is delicious but also because it is so damned easy!

I made the vegan version but the meat version should be just as simple.  I also used this 1.5 quart Crock Pot (the perfect size for singles or couples who want to make smaller portions of things) that I bought at the supermarket for $11.

Image

It is about as wide across the top as my outstretched palm & fingers.  No settings.  Just a simple & small slow cooker.  This made enough of the taco filling to stuff two people & maybe feed four – if there were rice or something served with the tacos.  In fact – this chicken/chorizo filling was a lot like a chili & would go very nicely over rice – rather than in tacos.

If you do not have a crock pot – this can be done stove top.  It will just require that you keep a bit more of an eye on it.

The wonderful thing about the crock pot thing is that once I chopped up the ingredients & wiped the cutting board – there was virtually no additional cooking or cleaning – except for the crock pot itself.  If you are feeding more or have a larger crock pot – double up the recipe.  I bet it freezes really well.

Image

Image

Easy & Spicy Crock Pot Chicken & Chorizo Tacos – Vegan or Not!

INGREDIENTS

8 oz faux chicken strips (or real chicken strips)

1 10 oz tube of soyrizo (or chorizo)

1/2 red onion – sliced thin

3 mini sweet peppers (or 1/2 bell pepper) – sliced thin

1 jalapeno – seeded & diced (optional)

Juice of 1 lime

1 1/2 TBS Taco seasoning

2 cups stock

1/2 cup Italian salad dressing

Tortillas

Garnish: cilantro, avocado, lime wedges, queso fresco (for non-vegans) and/or Spicy Grilled Corn & Black Bean Salsa.

Image

Image

Image

Image

DIRECTIONS

Cut up the veggies (onion, peppers & jalapeno).  Put them on the bottom of the crock pot (or in a pan stove top).

Image

Add the chicken & chorizo (or vegan versions).  Add the lime juice, taco seasoning, stock & Italian dressing.  This filled my crock pot perfectly to the top.  You might need less stock.

Image

Image

My little crock pot has no settings – so – I just left in on for 3 hours.  If yours has settings – set it at high – ESPECIALLY if you are using real meat.

If you are doing this stove top, I’d bring it to a boil & then simmer it for 2-3 hours (or less – if using vegan meats).  If using real meat – be VERY sure your chicken is cooked through.

The result should be pretty soupy still so use a slotted spoon to serve the mixture onto warmed corn tortillas.  Garnish as you will.

Enjoy!!!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

