Honey, Maple, Mustard & Sriracha Glazed Baked Ham

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

images (1)download (1)

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

Image

I don’t eat meat.  I probably have not tasted ham in 25+ years.  But – my badass boyfriend lives almost exclusively on animal protein (something I want to work on) and, occasionally, I make a meat item for him.  During his most recent trip to LA, I hosted a small shindig.

Image

 

010

Image

I served Vegan Hoppin’ John & vegan collard greens & corn bread.  Others contributed deviled eggs & an antipasto salad (among other things).  At the very last minute, as I shopped for a few forgotten groceries, I spotted hams at the store.  $20 for a ten pound ham seemed like such a cost effective way to feed a crowd that I stood there for a few minutes pondering my willingness to make it for Miles.  Then I saw the 50% off sticker.  $10 for a ten pound ham?  That cinched it for me.  I mean – at that price – it was a cheaper source of food for my dogs than their limited ingredient dog chow so – I could not possibly lose.

So I bought the gruesome thing & brought it home.

This isn’t really a recipe beyond the fact that I customized the glaze that came with the meat.  I cooked it as instructed with the exception of covering it in foil for the first part of the heating.  I neglected to do that.  This resulted in quite a charred exterior but, once this was glazed, the charred bits became a crust that I saw Miles seeking out as he stole bits of ham as he walked by it.  That sentence is clumsy but I have a terrible cold & my brain is foggy.  Please forgive me.  My point is – the burned bits were quite popular so do not be afraid to burn your ham a bit.  Oh!  And…

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!

Image

Honey, Maple, Mustard & Sriracha Glazed Baked Ham

INGREDIENTS

Ham (I used a cooked, spiral-cut ham)

The glaze packet that comes with it

1/2 cup honey

3 TBS grain mustard

1 TBS maple syrup

1 TBS sriracha

Image

Image

Image

Image

DIRECTIONS

Over medium heat – whisk the glaze packet with the other ingredients & cook until the sugar dissolves.  Let cool.

Cover a baking sheet with a few layers of foil.  It makes cleaning so much easier.  Put the ham cut side DOWN on the foil-lined cooking sheet & either cover it with foil (or not – if you want a bit of char on the outside like mine) and cook it at 350 for 45-60 minutes.

Remove the ham from the oven & increase the temperature to 425.  Remove the foil covering if you used one.

Use about 1/4 of the glaze to coat the ham.  Cook it for 15 minutes & repeat the process – glazing every 15 minutes until the glaze is gone.

Let the ham cool for AT LEAST 30 minutes.  Then, simply serve it – cut side facing out (not down) – and watch your carnivorous friends lose their shit.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

