Cauliflower Soup with Spicy Peanut Butter Cream

1 Comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

I’ve got some stuff to share today!  First of all, press play & treat yourself to my latest musical obsession, Pokey LaFarge!  I adore me some fashionable boys doing old-timey, Southern-sounding stuff.  Click play above & get a gander at Pokey!

If you know me in real life, you know I am long obsessed with Mr. Justin Townes Earle.  Just look at this guy!

ImageImageImageImageImage

Better yet – watch him live at the Newport Folk Festival playing a guitar like he has four hands and making cranky-twisted faces that just make my pants fall off.  I’m old enough to be his mother which really creeps me out but my love for him is undying.

~

At any rate, I’ve listened to the available JTE stuff to death so this Pokey LaFarge is like a fresh start.  Very exciting.

Image

Also, I think I should confess to following something else – this food blog – How Sweet It Is.  Despite the fact that she fetishizes bacon (I am vegetarian) & seems obsessed with sweets & especially sprinkles (sugar seldom tempts me), her other recipes look ridiculously delicious & her photography is always so gorgeous – it breaks my heart.  She does a regular post called “Currently Crushing On” where she lists a few things she has found out there that she would like to share.  This week – that list included another blogger’s recipe for Cauliflower Soup with Spicy Peanut Butter Cream.  I happened to have the ingredients for said soup – so I made it yesterday.  EASY EASY EASY and crazy yummy!  It seems really decadent but the ratio of peanut butter cream to cauliflower & stock is fairly small so each serving only has a tiny bit of those naughty ingredients.  The addition of the sambal oelek or sriracha is optional & might sound odd but it is an amazing combination.  The spicy sauce cuts the decadence of the peanut butter nicely so I very strongly suggest you try at least a little.  I used a lot – far more than pictured!

Image

Cauliflower Soup with Spicy Peanut Butter Cream (adapted from An Edible Mosaic)

Serves 4 easily

1 large head cauliflower, chopped into florets
2 medium onions, peeled, both ends trimmed, and quartered
6 cloves garlic, peeled and left whole
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
4 cups vegetable stock
½ cup heavy cream
¼ cup peanut butter (I used Skippy Super Chunk)
⅛ teaspoon sea salt
2 tablespoons water

A few parsley leaves, for garnish (optional) & Chopped peanuts, for garnish (optional)

Chili-garlic sauce (or sambal oelek or sriracha), for garnish (optional but STRONGLY suggested!)

Procedure

1. Preheat oven to 425°F.

2. Toss the cauliflower, onion, garlic, olive oil, salt, and black pepper together on a large baking sheet and spread in an even layer.

3. Bake until tender and starting to brown in spots, about 30 minutes, tossing once halfway through.

ImageImage

4. Transfer the roasted vegetables to a food processor and process until smooth, about 1 to 2 minutes, scraping the sides of the bowl down as necessary and giving the motor a break periodically. (You may need to process the vegetables in 2 batches, depending on the size of your food processor.)

Image

5. Add the pureed vegetables and stock to a medium saucepan. Bring to a simmer over medium heat.

Image

6. Whisk together the heavy cream, peanut butter, and sea salt in a small bowl until smooth, then gradually whisk in 2 tablespoons water.

Image

7. Stir half of the peanut butter crème into the soup, reserving the other half for garnish.

8. Ladle the soup into 4 bowls and top each with a drizzle of peanut butter crème and a sprinkle of chopped peanuts. Add the parsley leaves and/or chili-garlic sauce on top if desired. Serve warm.

Image

One thought on “Cauliflower Soup with Spicy Peanut Butter Cream

Leave a Reply

