Homemade Avocado Ice Cream

2 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

BathingandthesinglegirlCover

vromans back

OMG.  I cannot believe I haven’t tried avocado ice cream until today.  It is insane!

I had 4 avocados that were all perfectly ripe.  But, like bananas, avocados have a very small window in which they remain perfect.  No matter how you like them – kinda hard or total mush – that window is a day, maybe two.   So – even a huge avocado fan like myself cannot eat 4 avocados in a day – without resorting to guacamole.   I didn’t want to resort to guacamole.

Earlier today, I considered breaking out an old & very low end ice cream maker I have had for about 20 years but never used.  I was going to attempt blackberry ice cream because – you guessed it – I have a bunch of blackberries that I need to use.  But then I thought – AVOCADOS!  I am going to make avocado ice cream!!!  And so I did and it was EEEEEEEEASY & a revelation.  You do need an ice cream maker – but – they can be had cheap.  I have two, actually – the counter-top appliance one by Oster that I used today & this old school bucket one that looks like this (image stolen from the internet).

Image

It makes amazing ice cream but it needs lots of ice & lots of rock salt & is a tad messy.  I was hoping the counter-top version would suffice – and it did!  Here it is.

Image

So – with the use of simply a food processor (or blender) to blend the ingredients & then an ice cream maker to freeze the creamy goodness – I had this incredible avocado ice cream.  Read the directions below & see how easy this was!

Image

Homemade Avocado Ice Cream

INGREDIENTS

4 medium avocados

3/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups milk

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

juice of 1/2 lime

pinch of salt

Rock salt & lots of ice for the ice cream maker

Image

DIRECTIONS

Scoop the avocado out put into a food processor.  Pulse to puree.  Add the other ingredients & quickly blend until completely smooth.

ImageImageImageImage

Put into the ice cream maker & follow manufacturers directions.

ImageImage

Here is a little movie!

Try not to eat it all before anyone else gets to try it!

TIPS: Freeze the metal canister from the ice cream machine before using it.  Chill the avocado puree for several hours before putting it in the machine.

Store the ice cream in a flat, shallow container & cover it with wax or parchment paper or plastic wrap before putting the lid on the container.  That will help ward off freezer burn.

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Homemade Avocado Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Three Mushroom & Kale Savory Pie | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

  2. Pingback: Homemade Roasted Beet Ice Cream | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

Leave a Reply

