Easy Baked Kale Chips

2 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

This hardly counts as a recipe but I am posting it anyway because these are SO easy & so delicious!  I ate an entire bunch of kale alone last night.  You can add grated Parmesan or lemon to these or dip them in aioli or something but I ate these with just salt.  The kale I had was starting to turn yellow & was kinda wilted.  That had no impact on the kale chips.  They were bright green & crispy!

Image

Easy Baked Kale Chips

INGREDIENTS

Kale (I used curly kale)

Salt

Olive oil

Image

DIRECTIONS

Heat the oven to 350.

Remove the rib from the kale leaves.

ImageImage

Tear the leaves into chip-sized bits.  Drizzle with olive oil (tr to go light with it) and literally MASSAGE the oil into the leaves with your hands so that you get total coverage.  Sprinkle LIGHTLY with salt.

Bake for 5-6 minutes and then I turned the pan around & baked another 5-6 minutes.  You might not need to rotate your pan but I had to because, as you can see (in the third image below), the back of my oven is way hotter than the front.  Be certain to space the leaves so they do not touch each other – or you will get unevenly baked chips.  It took three separate rounds of baking for me to get the entire bunch of kale baked because my cooking sheet was small.  The kale will shrink a lot during cooking.

ImageImageImage

When the kale is just beginning to brown in spots – remove from the oven & eat immediately!

Image

2 thoughts on “Easy Baked Kale Chips

Leave a Reply

