Lavash Pizza with Whipped Feta, Grilled Eggplant, Red Onions & Arugula Salad

4 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

I love pizzas with cold salads on top of them.  I will even dump a bunkus “house salad” of iceberg lettuce & shaved carrots on a slice – if I find myself in a pizza joynt.  But arugula salad is my favorite salad & arugula tops pizza so delightfully – I hope you give this a try.

This particular pizza was so delicious last night – I kept thinking, “I think this is my favorite pizza ever.”  That is saying a lot because I experiment with pizza nearly weekly.  Last August, I posted a Grilled Indian Eggplant Pizza with Feta, Tomatoes & Black Olives made with tiny, little Indian eggplants.

Image

Image

And while that pizza was yummy – the one last night was a revelation.  Maybe the lavash (rather than pizza dough) allowed the subtle flavors to come through better.  I’m not sure.  But I really recommend this pizza with all the enthusiasm I can muster.  If lavash isn’t available near you – try this with tortillas – like I did HERE.

Image

I used Japanese eggplants here & sliced them VERY thin.

Image

You can use regular eggplant but that can sometimes be bitter.  I sliced my Japanese eggplants as thin as I could with a mandolin & then dredged them through some bullshit Italian dressing I had.

Image

I grilled them on each side for about a minute or two.

Image

You could pan sear them a few minutes on each side or use a grill pan – or even roast them at 450 for just a few minutes.  But I think precooking them some way is sorta critical to the overall result here.  Still – you could probably use them raw – just slice them PAPER thin.

Image

Image

I will not give specific quantities of certain toppings here because that is really a matter of personal taste – but I will show you what I used.  Also – fresh mozzarella is nicer than the processed kind you typically buy grated up for pizza topping but that can also be used.  The fresh is better, though.

Image

Lavash Pizza with Whipped Feta, Grilled Eggplant, Red Onions & Arugula Salad

INGREDIENTS

Lavash (or tortillas or pizza dough)

Whipped feta ((t is made by simply blending 8 oz of feta with 3 oz cream cheese & just enough water to get them to blend in your food processor (or other tool you use to whip things)

Japanese eggplant – sliced very thin

Red onion – sliced paper thin

Cherry tomatoes (or other tomato) – diced

Fresh mozzarella – sliced

Fresh oregano – chopped

Crushed red pepper

S&P to taste

Arugula

Lemon

Olive oil

ImageImageImageImage

DIRECTIONS

If using lavash or tortillas, preheat the oven to 350.  If using pizza dough – heat it to 500.

Dip the sliced eggplant in an oil based Italian (or Greek) dressing (or olive oil) & grill just to soften & give some color.

To assemble simply layer your lavash with whipped feta, eggplant, fresh oregano, mozzarella, tomatoes, onion and crushed red pepper.   Bake for about 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted & the lavash is browned at the edges.

Meanwhile, toss the arugula in a LITTLE olive oil & some fresh lemon juice.  Add S&P to taste.

When the pizza is done, top it with the arugula salad & serve it up!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Image

4 thoughts on “Lavash Pizza with Whipped Feta, Grilled Eggplant, Red Onions & Arugula Salad

  1. Hi! I just wanted to tell you that I totally enjoy all your recipe posts. My husband, Curt Massof, turned me on to your FB page because he was constantly drooling over every recipe you posted. We haven’t officially made any of your recipes but we decided once a week, we are going to try and cook one of them!! They all look absolutely delicious and are usually made with our one favorite foods. I’ll let you know which one we attempt first. Thanks for coming up with such interesting meals! Take care! Cat Massof

    Like

  2. Discovering Nan bread as a nice option for pizza, too.. I stuff it with goat cheese, (because I’m addicted, and why not?) and sliced tomatilla or cherry tomatoes, cos I love the popping sound–, and then layer with extra virgin, cos one virgin is never enough, and mint light sprintz of mint oil, then arugula, et al. then have it cooled off -cos in 117 degrees, I can’t give up pizza but I can’t handle heat either. 🙂 and I have just about every one of your recipes saved now….

    Like

  3. Pingback: Eggplant Parmesan Mini Towers with Fresh Mozzarella & Garlic Spinach | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

Leave a Reply

