Not Just For Breakfast Pizza with Kale, Hominy & Egg

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

I apologize up front for the sub par photography here.  I assume that the bulk of the better food bloggers make dishes specifically for their blogs and spend some time lighting the food beautifully & taking their time to get it right.  That isn’t what I do.  I do not have the luxury of making food solely for this blog.  The vast majority of what I post here are my actual meals.  I make myself dinner, I try to photograph it really quickly before it gets cold and then I eat it.  Sometimes this works beautifully.  Other times, like last night, the dish doesn’t lend itself to sitting out for long & retaining anything resembling a pleasing aesthetic  and some things – like runny yolks – are just plain gross to eat cold.  So – I post this dish because it was delicious but, again, I apologize for the less than perfect imagery.

Also frustrating are my ongoing efforts & repeated failures in trying to get a gorgeous photo of food with gooey yolk.  Some people out there really have this down.  I do not.   But I will keep trying!

Image

Not Just For Breakfast Pizza with Kale, Hominy & Egg

INGREDIENTS

Pizza dough – mine is HERE

1 bunch kale

1 onion – diced

6 garlic cloves (or to taste) – chopped

Grated cheese of your choice

olive oil

Hominy – about 1/4 cup or so

1 TBS crushed red pepper

1 (or more) egg

DIRECTIONS

Heat your oven to 450-500 degrees.

Remove the ribs from the kale & throw them away & chop up the leaves.

ImageImage

Heat about 1 TBS olive oil on a saute pan.  Saute the onion & crushed red pepper a minute or two.  Then add the garlic & kale.  Saute about 5 minutes or until the kale is wilted.

ImageImageImage

Roll out the dough.  Place it on a greased pizza pan.  Top with the kale & the hominy & grated cheese.  Bake for about 10 minutes or until it looks just about done.

ImageImageImageImageImage

In the last two minutes – crack an egg in the center (or several – if you like) and bake a minute or two or until the egg whites look about cooked through.  You can err on the side of under-cooking the egg because it will continue to cook when the pizza is being cut up.  Fresh cracked pepper might be a nice finish!  Slice it up & chow down!

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

