Taco Pizza with Hominy & Greens & Cilantro-Lime Vinaigrette

1 Comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

All my posts now have a VERY customizable PRINT & PDF option.  Create a PDF & save the recipe to your computer or print it out.  It offers a “remove images” option & you can delete any part of the post you do not need before printing.  The button is below by the Twitter & Facebook links.

~

Hominy.  I cannot escape it.  I bought this 7 pound can for $2.29 (for my Vegan Pozole)and I cannot seem to use it all up.

Image

I also had leftover pinto beans from that same Pozole effort – and from those I made my “Not Your Mama’s” Spicy Vegan Refried Beans.  Now I am going to make a pizza using both the refried beans and the hominy – a Taco Pizza with Hominy & Greens & Cilantro-Lime Vinaigrette.  This is really just a suggestion – not a recipe.  You can add things you might prefer in your taco (cooked meat, for example) or lose things you dislike – perhaps the hominy.  The real key is the spread of the spicy refried beans rather than a tomato sauce.  And I never tire of cold salads on top of hot pizzas – so I recommend very highly that you try it.  The sweet dressing is a nice contrast to the spicy beans.

Oh – and here is a video that I am posting for no reason other than it pleases me.  I am also pleased that you have to be 18 to watch goofy guys flip their junk around in Speedos (as per Youtube rules).  Ah, the simple pleasures in life!

I also love this cover from Christian Porter on The Voice.

Taco Pizza with Hominy & Greens & Cilantro-Lime Vinaigrette

INGREDIENTS

Pizza dough – mine is HERE

Refried beans – mine are HERE

Grated cheese – any blend you like

Hominy – in the quantity of your preference

Red cabbage – shredded

Roasted or raw jalapeno – chopped

Tomato – diced

Cilantro – chopped

Mixed greens

Cilantro & Lime Vinaigrette

6-28-13 003

DIRECTIONS

Heat your over to 450-500.

Roll out the dough.  Room temperature dough is easier to work with.

Top the dough with some spicy refried beans, then layer jalapeno, hominy, tomato, red cabbage & cheese.   Bake for 1-12 minutes or until the cheese is melted & the crust is crispy.

Meanwhile – toss lots of greens in a little vinaigrette.  When the pizza is done, top it with the salad & maybe some more diced tomato & chopped cilantro.  Then – shove it ALL in your pie-hole.  I did.

6-27g-143 002 6-27g-143 003 6-27g-143 004 6-27g-143 005 6-27g-143 006 6-27g-143 007 6-27g-143 010

One thought on “Taco Pizza with Hominy & Greens & Cilantro-Lime Vinaigrette

  1. Pingback: Creamy Goat Cheese Spaghetti with Lemon & Collard Greens | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

Leave a Reply

