Sliced Baked Potato with Horseradish Cream & Thyme

Leave a comment

 

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

 

vromans front vromans back

~

It doesn’t get much simpler than a baked potato.  A friend of mine posted an image of a sliced one on Facebook and it looked interesting – so I tried it.  I wasn’t sure if I should peel it of not so I peeled half of it.   The image above shows the peeled side.  Here is the skin side.

Image

I don’t think it makes a big difference but the peeled side was prettier & turned a nice golden color.

To make these – simply pre-heat your oven to 425.  Prep your potato by washing & drying it, peeling it (if you choose to) and then slicing it into 1/4-1/2 slices – being careful not to cut all the way through.  You might first want to cut a little bit off the long side to create a flat surface for the potato to stabilize on.  I didn’t do that.  I saw someone online using the handle of a wooden spoon to brace the potato against & to provide a barrier to keep the knife from slicing all the way through.  I didn’t find the slicing very tricky & just went for it. Once it is sliced up, rub olive oil into it & season it with a little salt.  Put it directly on the rack in your oven.  Bake for about 45 minutes or until golden & crispy on the outside.

I served mine with the leftover horseradish cream from my

Smoked Salmon & Horseradish Cream Verrine with Cucumber & Tomato

Image

Horseradish Cream

INGREDIENTS

4 oz cream cheese

1 TBS prepared horseradish sauce (or to taste)

2 sprigs fresh dill

7 (or more) TBS heavy cream

1/8 tsp salt

DIRECTIONS

Blend everything in a food processor.  Add more heavy cream if you like a thinner sauce.  Add more horseradish sauce if you enjoy kick.

I added some fresh thyme & voila!  You could top this potato like any other, though (butter, sour cream, bacon bits, cheese – whatever).  Here is how they look naked.  Let your imagination take you away when you ponder how to dress it.

Image

Leave a Reply

