Easy Slow Cooker Beef Stew & Ashley’s at the Capital Hotel in Little Rock, Arkansas

Leave a comment

Photo by Miles B. Miller – 2013

All Other Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

My most recent travels put me in Oxford, Mississippi for four days at the amazing Oxford Film Festival

Image

Image

where my new short (Grasshopper!) was screening along with my pal Richard Speight, Jr’s short (America 101) – which had it’s world premiere.  I was entertained watching him get stopped like a rock star everywhere he went by avid Supernatural fans.

Image

Nice drinks

Image

Bizarre hotel lobby taxidermy:

Image

And good eats in cutie downtown Oxford:

ImageImage

ImageImageImage

From there, my boyfriend, Miles, and I headed to Memphis for an anniversary of sorts that we called our “Memphersary.”

Two days there eating great food at Flight

Image

and we tried grilled oysters at Bleu:

ImageImage

We got caught in the rain on Beale Street:

Image

Image

Some vegetarian soul food sides at Rum Boogie Cafe (and a super intimidating-looking Miles):

Image

Image

We spent lots of time at the duck-obsessed Peabody & enjoyed looking at the Memphis Pusiness Journal sign from the roof.

ImageImageImageImage

Image

Image

3-5-2013 (124)

And Miles ate lots of meat at The King’s Palace on Beale:

Image

ImageImage

Then we took the Greyhound to Little Rock:

Image

Classy & handy syringe disposal:

3-5-2013 (239)

And the hottest spot in Forrest City – the Greyhound terminal.ImageImageImage

Too much to tell about Little Rock except that by the time I got there, I was craving something not fried & I was dying to cook something.  These two desires were satisfied separately.   Miles bought me a decadent lunch at Ashley’s in the Capital Hotel.

ImageImage

We shared an amazing shrimp & grits which was so good, I pretended not to see the ham floating in there & just avoided it:

Image

I had a squash risotto:

Image

And look at this ridiculous steak & potato tower Miles got!!!

Image

The crazy thing was that these entrees cost an average of about $17 each but the cheapest wine was $14 a glass.  Yikes!

In return, I went to the only grocery store near his condo and bought the ingredients to make him a beef stew.

Image

The grocery is an upscale, little mini-market attached to Dugan’s, the Irish pub on the ground floor of Miles’ condo building.  We spend a LOT of time at Dugan’s.  Anyway, when I say I bought the ingredients – I mean I had to buy everything.  Here is the inside of Miles’ fridge & freezer:

ImageImage

NOTHING.  Nothing except beer, wine, club soda, tonic water & some film.

Here is the little market (shots taken by Miles):

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Dugan’s little store is really a miraculous wonderland.  Everything I could think of – they seemed to have.  Not a selection of everything but a little bit of everything from laundry soap to fresh, raw salmon to fancy cheeses to cereals & canned goods.  They make sandwiches & soups & have wicked looking pastries, inexpensive wines & honestly, just about everything else I could think of – albeit in small quantities.

By comparison, Miles is FAR less stocked – as he owns ONE pan with a lid & a slow cooker that gave him that he has never used.

Image

Oh – and he has salt & pepper & a bag of Asian condiments (soy seen below) from a restaurant from which he gets delivery.  And he has ONLY one knife – a steak knife.

Image

I spent $45 in the store on a rib-eye, some potatoes & carrots & garlic & rice & a few condiment items, a can of tomatoes, a large container of rice and some olive oil.

Here is the kitchen:

Image

Here is the view from the kitchen:

Image

Here are the ingredients:

ImageImageImage

And here is what I did:

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Easy Slow Cooker Beef Stew

INGREDIENTS

Meat (a chuck larger than my hand & fingers) – cubed

4 garlic cloves – diced

2 TBS olive oil

1 red onion – diced

1 carrot – cubed

1 potato – cubed

1 14.5 oz can fire-roasted tomatoes

1/2 cup red wine

1 TBS A-1 Steak Sauce

Crystal Hot Sauce (to taste)

1/3 cup Curly Bob’s Sauce (HERE is a little article on Curly Bob)

Soy sauce and/or salt & pepper to taste

(You could add peas or any other veggies you care to, as well, or maybe some barley.)

DIRECTIONS

Heat the olive oil & saute the garlic & onion until translucent.  Add the cubed meat & cook nearly through.  Add red wine & cook over high heat a minute or two.

Place all the ingredients in a slow cooker & cook on high for 4 hours or on low for eight.  I stirred mine around occasionally and added a packet of soy sauce – mostly because it was the only other ingredient handy with which to get crazy.  Not a single spice (other than S&P) was added to this dish.

Unfortunately – I divvied this all up & froze it for Miles to have in my absence & completely forgot to photograph the results.  I was also unable to taste it.  What I can say is – it friggin’ SMELLED awesome while it cooked!

A few nights ago, Miles defrosted it all & shared it to his friend & his brother.  He declared it a success & sent me the two photos I have posted here.  He is a fussy eater so if he says it was good – I’m gonna believe him!

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Image

In closing – here is Miles & his brother Josh & their uncle, Watson.  Little Rock is very photogenic!

Image

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImage

Image

Bloody Brain Shooters are not!

Image

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

Leave a Reply

