Homemade Pumpkin Dog Treats

1 Comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

Hey!  Have you heard?  I wrote a really funny & dirty novel!  www.BathingBook.com.   Check out the reviews on Amazon!  Why not buy a copy?

vromans front vromans back

I try to feed my dogs the best stuff possible whenever I can afford to.  Dog treats, however, are constantly in the news because of recalls – so the only treat I give my dogs are pieces of these hotdogs that I buy for about $1.19 a pack.

Image

The phrase “chicken treats” gets a very dramatic response from all my kids.  speaking of – here are my kids:

Image

Image

Image

That is Memphis, Dexter & Moxie.  They make me very happy.  So – I decided to experiment with making them some treat other than the hotdogs.

I wanted to keep them as grain-free as possible but I did end up using a cup or more of whole wheat flour.  The bulk of the flour I used was besan, or chickpea flour, that I buy cheaply at my local Indian market.  I found this on the internet:

Chickpeas, also called garbanzo beans, are legumes, like lentils and peas. Chickpea flour is high in easily digestible protein, which your dog needs a lot of.

Anyway – I blended the dough in my food processor, rolled it out on the counter & cut it up with a bone-shaped cookie cutter.  I added two chicken hotdogs to the dough because I couldn’t predict how my kids would respond to these treats & I didn’t want them to be a complete bust.  As it turned out – they are CRAZY for these.  Next time – I might omit the hotdogs & maybe add peanut butter.

Also – pure pumpkin puree is really good for dogs and a MIRACLE cure for doggy diarrhea.  Just mix some into a food they love & let the healing begin.

Image

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Homemade Pumpkin Dog Treats

INGREDIENTS

1 cup pure pumpkin puree

2 eggs

3 cups chickpea (or rice or wheat) flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 chicken hotdogs – pureed (optional)

1 tsp salt

Image

DIRECTIONS

Combine ingredients to a dough either by hand or in a food processor or bread machine.  Add more flour if the dough is too sticky.

ImageImage

Roll it out to about 1/2 inch thick & cut it – either with a cookie cutter or with a knife.  Bake at 350 degrees on a cookie sheet greased with cooking spray (or lined with parchment paper) for 15 minutes & then turn them & cook another ten minutes.  Allow to cool & serve them up to happy pups!

PRINT THIS RECIPE

ImageImage

Image

One thought on “Homemade Pumpkin Dog Treats

  1. Pingback: Vegan Pumpkin, Peanut Butter & Rolled Oats Dog Treats | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

Leave a Reply

