Lemon-Pepper Artisan Pappardelle with Creamy Lemon-Basil Sauce, Spinach & Edamame

2 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

vromans front

vromans back

~

I love homemade pasta.  I love making homemade pasta.  I loved making it when I was doing it all manually & I like it even more now that I can mix & knead the dough in my bread machine & I have a stand mixer with pasta making attachments that motorizes the cranking for me as I press & cut the dough.  I love the process – it is Zen for me – and I am reeeeeally gratified by the light & delicate finished product.  And now I am loving experimenting with flavors.

Homemade pasta has a subtle flavor that begs for more nuanced toppings than heavy red sauces etc.  Also – some folks think it is overcooked when they taste it because they are so accustomed to al dente being a pasta standard.  Homemade pasta can never be al dente because it is never dried & hard.  It is soft & light & you can eat mounds of it without ever getting that stuffed & bloated feeling.  Leftover pasta makes an incredible breakfast when mixed with eggs, Parmesan & parsley (and anything else – sausage, avocado, tomatoes etc etc).

Anyway – this particular pasta could be made without any special tools.  You could make the dough, roll it out in sections to the desired thinness & then hand-cut the pappardelle.   I hand-cut mine with a sharp knife & I liked the inconsistent dimensions of each noodle.  I think you will, too.  However – if making homemade pasta either intimidates you or is too time consuming – just use a boxed pappardelle or other long noodle pasta.  This recipe seems heavy – but the ratio of heavy cream to pasta is such that it is actually quite light.

One note – I hung this pasta to dry over hangers like this:

Image

Image

I won’t do that again as most of the pasta broke at the bend when it dried out.  It didn’t matter much but just letting it dry on the counter works just as well.

Also – I had the luxury of using backyard lemons that were nearly orange in color & exceptionally juicy & amazingly aromatic.   Ymmm!

ImageImage

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Lemon-Pepper Artisan Pappardelle

INGREDIENTS

3 1/2 cups flour

4 eggs

1 TBS olive oil

2 TBS water

1-2 lemons – zest & juice

1 TBS cracked pepper

DIRECTIONS

I made my dough by putting the ingredients in my bread machine.  Additionally – I made it a day ahead & let it rest overnight in my fridge, wrapped tightly in plastic wrap.  This isn’t necessary.

Comprehensive instructions on making pasta dough is HERE in this post.

I then rolled it thin & cut it into strips by hand.

ImageImage

Creamy Lemon-Basil Sauce, Spinach & Edamame

Serves 4 easily

INGREDIENTS

2 TBS olive oil

4 TBS butter

4 garlic cloves – minced

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

2 TBS lemon juice

1 TBS lemon zest

2 or more TBS basil – chopped

2 packed cups fresh spinach

1 cup edamame

Gremolata (2 TBS lemon zest, 1 minced garlic clove & 4 TBS minced parsley)

Grated Parmesan

S&P to taste

DIRECTIONS

Mix the gremolata & set aside.

Image

Plunge the spinach in boiling water for 30 seconds then drain, cool & chop.  Set aside.

ImageImage

Heat the butter in a pan & add the garlic.  Saute for a minute then add the heavy cream, lemon juice & zest, shredded basil and S&P to taste.  Simmer on low heat for a few minutes to let the flavors meld.  Add the chopped spinach & edamame.

ImageImageImage

Cook your pasta.  If using homemade, it will cook VERY quickly, under a minute sometimes.  You can tell it is done because it begins to float.  Drain & add to the pan with the cream sauce.  Blend & serve with the gremolata & grated Parmesan – and maybe a drizzle of a nice olive oil.

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Image

2 thoughts on “Lemon-Pepper Artisan Pappardelle with Creamy Lemon-Basil Sauce, Spinach & Edamame

  1. Pingback: Homemade Arugula Pasta Dough & Bucatini | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

Leave a Reply

