Slow Cooker Chipotle Chicken Tacos

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~~~~

I don’t eat chicken so this is a rare post for me.  My boyfriend was in town for his birthday & I decided to bend the rules & make these especially for him.  If you have a slow cooker, this could not be easier.  If you do not have a slow cooker – I really recommend getting one.  Look HERE.  They can be had for as low as $10.  I paid $10 for mine at Menard’s in Michigan & it came in the thermal traveling case & everything.  It only has three settings (warm, low & high) but it is a really fun kitchen toy.  If you do not have a slow cooker, though, this could be done stove top very easily – you just cannot walk away & take a two hour Hollywood sign hike while it cooks – like I did.

Image

Image

At any rate – I couldn’t actually eat one of these tacos but they were a big hit.  I also served my Spicy Three Cheese Pinto Bean Dip with home fried corn chips, grilled avocado guacamole, Mixed Cabbage & Grilled Corn Slaw, Spicy Black Beans and Mexican Rice.  I made the beans the day before in my slow cooker & then left them on warm overnight.  They were incredible.  I made the slaw & rice on the day.  The chicken – 6 pounds of it – cooked in about 2-3 hours on high in the slow cooker.  That was faster than I expected.  I also made Grilled Tilapia Tacos – with tilapia marinaded in:

3 lbs tilapia

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tsp salt

zest of one lime

juice of 2 limes

1 TBS Sambal Oelek (chili paste)

1 tsp pepper

This tilapia was WAY more than I needed – as was the 6 pounds of chicken.  The next day, I added arrabiata (spicy tomato) sauce to both the leftover tilapia & some to some of the chipotle chicken & served this over pasta.  It was amazing.  Then, the next day, I used extra chipotle chicken on pizzas.  Again – delicious.  So – feel free to make too much & get creative with the leftovers.  You could make lasagna cupcakes or pizza cupcakes or even more tacos.

Also – the roasted (or grilled) jalapeno or Anaheim chilies are easy & a really nice touch.

ImageImage

Roast the jalapenos on a grill or in a grill pan or under a broiler (watching & rotating them very carefully) until they are blackened.  Place in an airtight container until they cool & then roll the skins off under running water.  Seed them & dice.

ImageImage

Image

ImageImageImage

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Slow Cooker Chipotle Chicken Tacos

INGREDIENTS

6 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts

24 oz hot (or otherwise) salsa

2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp smoked paprika

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

1/2 tsp oregano

S&P

4 chipotle peppers in adobo – minced

1/4 cup water (if needed)

ACCOMPANIMENTS & GARNISHES – corn tortillas, chopped fresh cilantro, grilled corn, tomatillo salsa, sliced scallions, diced tomato, diced red pepper, roasted jalapenos or Anaheim chilies (recipe HERE), pico de gallo, Mexican crema, shredded cheese, salsa, avocado or guacamole,

ImageImageImage

DIRECTIONS

Place all ingredients in slow cooker on high for three hours.  When the chicken is cooked, shred it all up by using two forks.

Grill the tortillas over your stove top burners until they just begin to get grill marks & keep warm.

Serve with a combination of the accompaniments & garnishes listed above.

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Image

Leave a Reply

