Pear, Gruyere & Caramelized Onion Grilled Cheese Sandwich with a Shot of Tomato Bisque

Leave a comment

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

~

vromans front vromans back

There is no real recipe required for this guy.  I used my super quick & easy Artisan bread and served myself a little sake cup up Roasted Heirloom Tomato Bisque alongside a grilled cheese comprised of:

Bread

butter

Gruyere cheese

Bosc pear

Caramelized red onion

Caramelizing onions is time consuming but you can do it it larger batches & keep them in the fridge for use on pizzas or in soups or on sandwiches or with meat.  They are a lovely addition to many things.  HERE is a little tutorial on how to caramelize onions.

To assemble, I pre-heated my oven to 400.  I slathered some butter on one side of each of the pieces of bread.   Layer slices of cheese & pear & some onions on the bread top the sandwich & grill in a pan until each side is golden.  I then put it in the oven for 5 minutes to completely melt the cheese.

This could be nice with brie & apples or brie & figs.  Any salty cheese & sweet fruit.  Maybe even honey!  Get creative!

Image

ImageImageImageImageImage

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

