Leftover Hoppin’ John Fritters with Heirloom Tomato & Avocado Salsa

2 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2013

Follow @celisemccarthy

To see images of my past posts & get links to the recipes – look on my Pinterest board – HERE.

I made enough Hoppin’ John to cater a friggin’ party.  I’ve been eating it since a few days before New Year’s & I froze some & I still have more than I can possibly eat.  I had to find a way to reinvent these black eyed peas so that I could keep eating them & not waste any.  Necessity – the mother of invention.  Let me present to you – Hoppin’ John Fritters with a delicious tomato & avocado salsa!!!

Image

Very easy & really delicious.  I served it with leftover white rice & I was quite delighted with myself.  I also made myself little fried green tomato & mozzarella towers – but I will post that recipe later this week.

1-2-13 (22)

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Leftover Hoppin’ John Fritters with Heirloom Tomato & Avocado Salsa

INGREDIENTS

Makes about ten fritters

2 cups Hoppin’ John (black-eyed peas)

1/4 cup flour (I used a gluten free variety)

1/2 cup bread crumbs (I used panko AND regular ones)

1 cup additional breadcrumbs

1 egg

SALSA

DOUBLE (maybe even triple) THIS SALSA RECIPE if you are serving all ten fritters.

1 large avocado – diced

1/2 jalapeno – diced fine (optional)

1/2 heirloom tomato – diced

12 cherry or grape tomatoes – quartered

juice of 1/2 lime

drizzle of olive oil

cilantro – chopped (for salsa & garnish)

S&P to taste

oil for frying (I used cheap olive oil)

DIRECTIONS

For the Fritters:

Put two cups of Hoppin’ John in a bowl & mash them up a bit with a potato masher.  Blend in the flour, egg and 1/2 cup bread crumbs.  Form into patties (I got 10 out of this quantity) and press each patty into the remaining bread crumbs to coat all sides.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes (or more) to let them solidify a bit.

1-2-13 (5) 1-2-13 (7) 1-2-13 (9) 1-2-13 (12)

Meanwhile, for the salsa:

Try to get different color cherry or grape tomatoes & a different color heirloom tomato for a pretty salsa.  Simply mix all the ingredients except for the avocado.  Add that just before serving.

1-2-13 (26)

Take your fritters from the fridge.  I pressed a little extra bread crumbs into them.  Heat the olive oil and carefully place your fritters in – a few at a time.  Fry until they are golden (2 minutes or so) & turn.  When evenly browned – remove & place on a warm pan in the oven until all your fritters are done.

1-2-13 (41)

Served topped with salsa, fresh cilantro & a nice side of rice!

PRINT THIS RECIPE

1-3-13 a(1)

2 thoughts on “Leftover Hoppin’ John Fritters with Heirloom Tomato & Avocado Salsa

  1. Pingback: Collard Green Burrito Wrap with Hoppin’ John Leftovers | Delightful-Delicious-Delovely

Leave a Reply

