Bean & Cheese Burrito Pizza with Avocado & Pico de Gallo

2 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2012

OK kids – another easy pizza.   Despite freezing a bunch & eating endless more – I still have lots of my Caribbean black beans around so I thought I’d experiment & make a pizza with them.  My friend Katie was here last night & pointed out that while this pizza tasted like pizza – it also tasted like something else.  “A burrito, maybe?” I asked.  She conceded that it did, in fact, have a burrito-like quality.  My explanation for this is that the beans I used were rather wet.  I considered draining & rinsing them but I didn’t want to wash away their flavor so I risked it.  It resulted in a heavier, wetter pizza than I usually make but it really was delicious so fuck it.  You can use any kind of beans you like – my Caribbean black beans or canned black beans or refried beans.  Anything works here.  You could also add chicken or chorizo (or soyrizo) or any other item you might request in a burrito.  Add some corn!  Get creative – and enjoy!

12-6-12a (11)

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Bean & Cheese Burrito Pizza with Avocado & Pico de Gallo

INGREDIENTS

Pizza dough

Black or refried beans

Arrabbiatta or other pasta sauce

pizza cheese (fresh mozzarella or a grated cheese mix)

1 jalapeno – sliced very thin

1/2 avocado – sliced thin

pico de gallo

cilantro – chopped as garnish

DIRECTIONS

PREHEAT YOUR OVEN TO 450.  Be sure it has reached 450 before putting your pizza in.

Prepare your pizza pan with cooking spray or wipe it with olive oil.  Roll out the dough, put it on the pan.  Top with pizza sauce then with a thin layer of beans.  Top with cheese & jalapeno slices.  Put in oven & bake for 10 minutes of so – or until the crust is brown & the cheese is melted & bubbling.  Top with avocado slices, pico de gallo & cilantro.

Blend up some margaritas & get sloshed.  In fact – do this part BEFORE you start your pizza.  I mean, why wouldn’t you?  It is FRIDAY, after all!!!!

PRINT THIS RECIPE

12-6-12a (1) 12-6-12a (2) 12-6-12a (3) 12-6-12a (4) 12-6-12a (5) 12-6-12a (6) 12-6-12a (7) 12-6-12a (18)

2 thoughts on “Bean & Cheese Burrito Pizza with Avocado & Pico de Gallo

  1. Tis true. It’s a burrito and pizza. Soooooo delicious!

    Mmmm. I wish I had some for breakfast!

    Christine is so innovative and ballsy when it comes to cooking:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

