Almost-Traditional Tuna Salad Sandwich with Arugula & Avocado & Tomato

3 Comments

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2012

Sometimes – bombarded with cooking shows & fancy foodie sites – you forget about old school standards.  I grew up in a low income, working class home in Boston.  Tuna was a delicacy to me back then.  My mother used to buy a can each of light & white tunas & combine them – not because she thought it tasted better that way but because the light tuna was less expensive (By how much – a few cents??  We were POOR!) – and it was her way of stretching the more costly white tuna out.  I didn’t even get this poor man’s tuna as often as I would have liked.  I mostly got Underwood Deviled Ham sandwiches for lunch.

Image

stock image

I got them SO often, in fact, that, eventually – the very smell of the stuff induced me to uncontrollable gagging.  And know – I was a big eater, easy to please & learned EARLY the art of eating for entertainment rather than sustenance.  I was no drama queen when it came to food.  I ate steamed clams & sucked marrow out of the bones of short ribs, ate “raw” hotdogs & even sampled Milk Bones.  I didn’t give a shit.  But when I didn’t like something – it was bad – a fact my mother learned the hard way by forcing me to continue eating a soft boiled egg over broken toast concoction that was making me gag (egg yolks were not my friend).  As she stood over me, arms akimbo, waiting for me to finish my meal – I promptly vomited into the bowl.  This sent my mother into paroxysms of laughter.  Eh – but don’t hold that against her.  She had to mix light tuna in with her white tuna so she could afford to serve her four-eyed, husky daughter a friggin’ tuna sandwich once in a while.  Who are we to begrudge her finding laughter where she could?

Image

Anyway – I digress.  Forthcoming – the simple ingredients & assembly.

PRINT THIS RECIPE

Almost-Traditional Tuna Salad Sandwich with Arugula & Avocado & Tomato

INGREDIENTS

Bread/roll of your choice – toasted or not

1 5oz can of white tuna in water – drained

1/2 avocado – sliced

1/2 tomato – sliced

1 handful of arugula (or other leafy green)

pinch of salt & pepper

1 TBS mayo

1 TBS mustard (I like this fancified jalapeno stuff!)

Image

DIRECTIONS

Mix the salt, pepper, mustard & mayo with the tuna.  Stack all the ingredients into your bread situation.  Eat it standing up while watching TV.  There are zero calories that way.

Cheers~

Image

3 thoughts on “Almost-Traditional Tuna Salad Sandwich with Arugula & Avocado & Tomato

Leave a Reply

