Breakfast in Los Angeles Three Ways – Millie’s, Hugo’s & Alcove

Leave a comment

Image

All Photos © Christine Elise McCarthy 2012

I am not a huge breakfast person.  I tend to eat an early lunch & an early dinner & skip breakfast completely.  I know this is not considered good & makes you fat etc – but what can you do?  I usually work out in the mornings & I am not hungry when I wake up – so – there you have it.  Still – if I have out of town guests – the gym generally gets blown off & then breakfast is back on the table – quite literally.

One of my old school favorites is Millie’s in Silverlake.  I have been going there since about 1985-6.  I’m kind of a stickler about the word “diner” and prefer it only be used when referring to actual DINING CAR diners rather than just any shitty coffee shop. That said – I would be happy to call Millie’s a diner.  It has all the right cosmetic aesthetics & the right (and very good) food.

Image

Image

That is my cutie boyfriend, Miles.  Aw!

Millie’s also has a great attitude.  Check out this vintage T-shirt I have from there from way back in the day:

Image

Image

Service with a fuck you!  Nice!

Image

Miles ordered pork chops & cheesy eggs.  Miles often orders cheesy eggs but this was the first time I’d seen him happy with their execution.  It seems the cheese was nicely blended in with the eggs – rather than just slapped on top & stuck under a heat lamp.

Image

The pork chops passed muster – as did their awesome rosemary potatoes.  I ordered scrambled eggs, veggie sausage & a biscuit.

Image

All great – especially the biscuit & the coffee served in a proper diner mug.  There is seating inside, at the counter & outside.  If you sit at the counter – you can watch your meal be prepared.  The food portions are huge & I’ve never had a bad meal here.  The Devil’s Mess is exceptional.  The only odd thing is the art displayed – I guess made by local patrons.  I’m never very impressed.  I once thought some of my roadside attraction imagery would be a perfect fit.  Check them out HERE.  I mean – come on!  4 or 5 of them – printed huge & framed?  They would kill in there.  But I was told (a few years ago) by a snarky guy that the honor of hanging at Millie’s was reserved for regulars.  If a 25 year patronage doesn’t qualify me – then fuck it.  I guess I’ll save myself the expense of printing & framing & use some of that money for Millie’s coffee & biscuits.

A few days later – we stopped by Hugo’s – in the valley.  While Hugo’s has an insanely broad selection of healthy, vegetarian & vegan options – I pretty much get the same thing every time I go there.  I get one of their breakfast pastas.  Pasta Mama, Pasta Papa or – as in this case – Pasta Emilia.  They make all their pastas fresh which is not only wonderful but critical in the case of these eggy breakfast pastas.  Look how yummy!

Image

Miles ordered a beef burger & I think it weighed half as much as he does.  It was enormous.

I’m not a big fan of those rustic “skin on” french fries.  I am much more of a crispy shoestring or McDonald’s or crispy steak fry kinda gal but these at Hugo’s are OK.    This burger went a long way in that it fed Miles & then my three appreciative dogs as leftovers.  Hugo’s isn’t cheap – but it really is VERY good!

Finally – on a Sunday – I decided we had to eat outside.  We went to Alcove – in Hollywood.  This place is gorgeous in every way.  The outside patio is quaint & shady & has ample tables for al fresco dining.  The Big Bar is exactly the kind of old-school but still bright & cheery place I prefer to do my drinking.  There is a bakery & a chocolate element to Alcove, too, but sweets never appeal much to me.  Still – the is one of the prettiest little spots in Hollywood.  You order your food at the cash register, sit with a number & they bring your food to you – wherever you elected to sit.

I ordered a bagel & sliced tomato.  Miles opted for – who knew? – cheesy eggs & a side of potatoes.

Image

Again – the eggs got a thumbs up.  The potatoes were amazing.  I believe a frialator was involved & I can’t think of anything that isn’t improved by deep frying.  Except butter.   Deep fried butter EXISTS!!  Don’t believe me?  Look HERE.  UGH!  Gag gag gag.  But the potatoes at Alcove seemed deep fried and were a perfect golden color & not greasy at all.  Miles also ordered a beer – as he is wont to do.  It was a new beer to both of us & it was very good.  Don’t underestimate the charm of a cold beer for breakfast, kids!  And don’t judge.  In fact – TRY IT!

Image

Mmmmmmm!

And so there you have it.  Not a lotta comedy or drama today.  Just lotsa yummy breakfast options in Los Angeles.  And some sage advice – BEER for breakfast!!!

Leave a Reply

